Sunny Sunday on the balcony
Architect's flat Shoreditch, next to Flower Market
Architect's flat Shoreditch, next to Flower Market


Entire home/flat

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

A recently refurbished, bright and spacious sunny flat in an architect-designed building, with a lovely balcony and fantastic views over London. Located on Columbia Road, famous for its fresh flower market on Sundays, in the heart of trendy Shoreditch in Zone 1.

The space

The flat is located on the 16th floor of a beautiful high rise building designed by Modernist architect Berthold Lubetkin. The neighbours are friendly and the building is well-looked after. There are two lifts for access. I am an architect, and have recently refurbished the interior of the flat.

The living room features a fully glazed wall which leads onto an external balcony with views over East London, including Columbia Road flower market, Canary Wharf, Victoria Park and Olympic park in the distance. There is a flatscreen TV, which has freeview channels and an hdmi connection for Mac laptops.

The kitchen is fully equipped with oven and hob, large fridge/freezer, toaster, kettle, washer, dishes and cutlery, tea/coffee, and a coffee press.

The bedroom is large with a double bed, wardrobe storage and a large window. There is an iron and ironing board available, extra blankets and a desk for working.

The bathroom is tiled and has a bath/shower with contemporary fittings and great water pressure.

Guest access

Guests will have access to the entire flat.

Please feel free to contact me for anything you might require during your stay, as well as any advice on getting around, local bars and restaurants and events during your stay.

Have a look at my guidebook for local tips!

Interaction with guests

I am happy to interact with guests as often or as little as is wanted. I live in London, and spend a lot of time in the area, so am always happy to drop in if needed. Please feel free to contact me for anything you might require during your stay, as well as any advice on getting around, local bars and restaurants and events during your stay.

Other things to note

*NB this listing is for the entire flat and will be completely unoccupied during your stay. I have the sofa bed room advertised for the periods where I will be staying there


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Entire home/flat

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: 20
Security Deposit: 250
Weekly Discount: 5%
Weekend Price: 110 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM

Guests are asked to kindly treat my home with care, and report any damage as soon as possible.

Please enjoy the balcony! Private outdoor space is rare in London, and this is a great spot for morning coffee, a cigarette (the only place where smoking is allowed) or to just keep an eye on the bustling market!

Shoes are not, under any circumstances, permitted in the flat.

Visitors are to be kept to a minimum. Any more than two visitors will need approval, as parties are not permitted. I am easily reached by text message, so a quick check is all I ask! Absolutely no overnight guests and no sleeping on the sofa.

Please keep noise levels down, especially after 11pm.

Lastly, please ensure the door is fully locked when leaving the flat.

Enjoy your stay!!


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
1 night minimum stay

10 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jordan User Profile
May 2017
Laurie's place was amazing and clean. She left very detailed instructions and everything worked really well as intended. She also made sure to be very accommodating, you can tell that she wants her guests to enjoy their stay. Also there's a great view from the balcony!

Cathrin User Profile
March 2017
Our stay at Laurie's flat was absolutely wonderful! Laurie is a very obliging person who stayed in contact with us from the very first moment. Everything was totally uncomplicated. The flat was clean and cozy with that amazing view right next to the flower market. Laurie even provided us with a pizza in the fridge in case we are hungry and don't want to go out so late. She had a (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) map with all the spots to discover and asked us regularly if everything was fine or if she can help us with something. We can highly recommend her appartment if you want live in a very cool neighborhood very well located. 5 stars for Laurie :)

Adriano User Profile
October 2016
We felt very comfortable in Lauries flat, everything was perfect for us. And the view of the building is amazing. Many thanks!

Dominik And Lisa User Profile
October 2016
I lived in Lauries flat for 3 months. She was a lovely host and I could feel like home. Laurie is very friendly and helpful. It was easy to contact her and she always answered very quickly. The flat is in the 16th floor in Shoreditch close to a small park. It looks exactly as the pictures show. The view from the balcony is amazing. The next bus stop is quite close (3 minutes walk) and there are busses to London Bridge & Waterloo Station (London Eye) directly. Additionally there's a close Overground station and you could walk around 15 minutes to the Underground. The Tesco close to the flat is great because it's opend from 7 - 23h every day (also Sunday). The "party street" is very close like 5 minutes walk and it's very quiet in the flat. The neighbours are very calm. I highly recommend to stay in this flat if you would like to do Sight-Seeing in London.

Aurélien User Profile
July 2016
Perfect spot, really well located. Nice bars & restaurants around, close to subway & overground. And what a view !

Drew User Profile
July 2016
The accommodation was well presented and what we liked most was the size. Definitely gave us a good break from a single room hotel. The view is great and area has a lot of good eating options.

Max User Profile
July 2016
This apartment was well located but lacked some facilities. Upon arrival we were disappointed to find out that the television doesn't actually work but requires a chord to connect to laptop devices if you have one on you. We were also dis heartened to find out one morning during a cold shower that the gas and electricity wasn't working. We were told to then simply go "top up" the credit at our own expense, then having to chase up this expense for weeks to come. The cooking facilities lacked certain essentials such as chopping boards making cooking slightly difficult, the lack of a dishwasher makes cleaning dishes quite time consuming. The washing machine was a welcome relief. The view from the apartment is fantastic, looking over a nice park and down to the markets. The bedroom had no blind for the first few weeks until one was installed making sleeping after sunrise difficult. The couch bed was quite stiff and uncomfortable and not recommended for a long stay. There is no blind In this room waking you up in the blazing sunlight early in the morning. The bathroom is well facilitated and comfortable though it lacks a toilet paper roll holder resulting in toilet paper becoming wet and soggy after a shower if it is within reach of the toilet. The main bed is comfortable though many times the wood beneath would detach creating a sink hole. Communication with Laurie is reasonable just allow a day or two for a response.

This host has 3 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

London, United KingdomJoined in January 2013
Laurie User Profile

Originally from Canada, I have lived in London for eight years working as an architect in the private residential sector. I moved to London with the plan to stay for a year, but fell in love with the city and have never left!

I have had great experiences with Airbnb as a guest. It is important to feel comfortable and at home when visiting a new city, so I want to ensure that guests feel that way in my flat too.

Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings