French doors and windows catch all-day sun for the smalll conservatory sleepout, in the west wall other windows catch afternoon and evening sun.
Sunny Garden Verandah, Wifi in house but not room
Sunny Garden Verandah, Wifi in house but not room
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 baths
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
1 guest maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

North-facing outdoor room - lots of windows + french doors let in sunshine, 10m across driveway/garden to our sunny character Main House (for shared kitchen, bathroom, breakfast area & living room where you can enjoy exchanges with other travellers) & Unlimited B'band or Wi-Fi, gives you a peaceful retreat, 2km to central Cathedral Square.
Note, all guests must be at least 18 years of age.


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 single bed

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee £4
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules

Please note: 1) This Sleep Out room is across the gravel driveway from the Main House where the shared bathroom and kitchen are situated. You need to walk around 10-15 steps across the gravel every time you want to access the bathroom, kitchen or outside Toilet House. 2) This room has a partition wall shared with the next room, and there is a window and a door in the wall. Although these are covered with curtains, it is possible to hear conversation in the next room. 3) The Sunny Conservatory is very sunny - due to lots of north-facing and west-facing windows, it can get really hot on a fine summer's day. Please confirm this is definitely the room you want to stay in.
Quiet enjoyment is the theme of the house. Please relax and make use of the shared bathroom and kitchen as your own home - don't forget to dry and put away your dishes after each meal, always leave the bathroom "in a better condition than you found it" and we will all be very happy!
:-)
Help with heavy items is warmly appreciated, e.g. mowing the lawn (hand mower), moving furniture (comes up more often than you might think!)
No pets, no smoking. Sorry, no guests under 18 years of age.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

12 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Michal User Profile
March 2017
My stay was too short. I spent there few nights in a nice cabin. It is close to the citycenter. What I appracieted the most was I could borrow a bicycle. I can recomend .

Jordan User Profile
February 2017
This was a wonderful place, and Miriam was very nice (even if I didn't see her). The rating may not reflect the experience, it's just far away from entertainment. The wi-fi does cut in and out, so I wouldn't come here to do work. I recommend it.

Hugo User Profile
February 2017
The second time of living in Miriam's house, everything's prefect!

Josh User Profile
November 2016
All good, nice and easy.

Kiarra User Profile
November 2016
I had a lovely stay at Miriam's. When I arrived, she wasn't there though she had left the key for me and a nice chocolate in my clean and comfortable room. The room is very warm due to all the windows, but so long as you open them up, it'll cool off fine. Everything in the house was clean and comfortable and my room was a nice escape after a long day of adventuring around the city. It's about a 20 minute from the central area of the city (museum, gardens, re:start) and I never made the walk after sunset. And it's a very straight, unconfusing walk as well, which is nice. The internet was reliable and the room was clean and comfortable. There's not much else I could ask for!

Florent User Profile
February 2016
It was really perfect for a first stay in NZ. Miriam helped me a lot! The place is nice. It looks like an hostel but better. You will meet people giving you tips and tricks.

Falk User Profile
February 2016
I had a very good start into New Zealand at Miriams wonderful location - no wonder I extended my stay twice. ;) Thanks for letting me! The place is clean and beautiful and you meet lots of nice people there. Miriam herself is a very helpful owner and a good source of Information. And her dinners at her home are a bliss! Thank you again for the wonderful time I could spend. Would definitely recommend to stay here.

This host has 375 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Christchurch, New ZealandJoined in March 2015
Miriam User Profile

Love travels in Europe, classical music and singing (choral and folk), learning languages like French and Chinese, philosophy, tai chi (taijiquan) and all my work roles in publishing, translation, interpreting and admin.
I love Dorothy Dunnett, Georgette Heyer, and read around 10 books a week. I mostly cook Mediterranean vegetarian (I do eat eggs and dairy) but other people in the house eat whatever they like. There are usually a few working holiday-makers and language students from every nationality around, as I enjoy their dynamism and openness to new experiences.
I want to make the most of Life, and for me that means enjoying the challenges and evolution.

Languages: English, Français, 中文
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings