Queen bedroomQueen bedroom
Private Room(s)/Bath East Anchorage
Hosted by Shelly
Shelly is the host.Shelly is a superhost.
4 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
4 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

The rental space is the downstairs of my home through a shared entrance. There are two bedrooms that accommodate 4 guests. One bedroom has a queen sized bed and one bedroom has two twin sized beds. There is one large bathroom. There is a common room with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electric tea kettle, paper plates, plastic utensils and seating. Washer and dryer available for use.

The space

Downstairs of large single family home in East Anchorage which includes two bedrooms (one queen and two singles) I am a medical professional who has lived in Anchorage since 1969.

Part of the common room downstairs is gated off for my two large and friendly dogs to stay during the day when I am at work or gone. The upstairs is where I live and is my personal space. It is where the dogs are when I am at home. In the mornings I let the dogs out through the downstairs door off their gated space due to health issues of the dogs, and their ability to handle stairs. I sometimes have to access the laundry room as well during the day.

Children are welcome, but if they are afraid of dogs this might not be your best choice.

Residence is within walking distance of bus stops (Peoplemover), Kaladi Brothers Espresso, and Subway.

Extensive network of biking/running trails within 100 yards.

Sunny south facing deck with seating and a firepit to enjoy the long daylight hours.

Both moose and bears have been seen in the neighborhood.

There is no longer a hot tub available, but there is now a firepit in it's place.

Guest access

Guests have access to the downstairs bedrooms, bathroom, common room, laundry room, parking in the driveway, and the front deck.

There is a propane firepit on the front deck. Please ask for instructions if you are interested in using it.

I also have three adult bikes (they are old)and two helmets for use if requested. Use at your own risk.

Interaction with guests

As much as they like.

Other things to note

I love doing this. I've met the most awesome people from all over the world. I try to go above and beyond so that each guests trip to Alaska is the best that it can be.

Please take into account that there are two large dogs on site and that there is no real cooking area for guests.


Amenities
Wireless Internet
Free parking on premise

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed, 1 floor mattress
Bedroom 2
2 single beds
Common spaces
1 couch

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 4PM
Check out by 11AM

Check in at 4pm. Check out at 11am.
Maximum stay is 7 nights through Instant Book
Strict non-smoking policy.
No eating/drinking on the carpet in the big bedroom downstairs.
Please be aware that I have two large, friendly dogs, who sometimes interact with guests, who sometimes are housed in a penned in area in the downstairs common room, and are sometimes let outside through the downstairs door.
If I am not available to personally check you in, I will leave instructions.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - The Airbnb space is downstairs.
Potential for noise - I live upstairs, so you may hear me moving about when I am at home.
Pet(s) live on property - 2 large friendly dogs. I keep them separate unless you would like to interact.
Some spaces are shared - Laundry room,
Amenity limitations - Possible limited water with four guests showering.

Cancellations

100 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Pauline User Profile
July 2015
We enjoyed our stay in Shellys house. The bed was very comfortable and a very nice shower room was much appreciated. We were grateful also to be offered a lift downtown on our last morning and enjoyed the chat on the way to the Ulu factory.

Barry User Profile
September 2013
Really nice staying in Shelly's home. She is a lovely lady and I enjoyed her company, although we only spent a short time together. Her house and the accommodation is as described by other guests and you are easily made to feel at home. The bed is super and the shower was perfect. The bus system (close by) is poor (lack of buses) but if you time it right you can be downtown in 35 minutes. However a car is really the best option, as there is very little to do close by. I would by more than happy to return.

Yuqiang User Profile
September 2017
Perfect location, close to grocery stores and restaurants. Shelly is very responsive, great host!

Abigail User Profile
August 2017
We just stayed for a stop over for one night to catch our next flight but wish we could have stayed longer.

Adriana User Profile
August 2017
Shelly's house is pretty cute. The space for Airbnb guests is super comfortable and organized. The only negative thing is that there was a strong smell of pee the last day where the dogs stay. The dogs are super friendly and full of love.
Shelly User ProfileShelly is a superhost.
Response from Shelly:
Adriana. I'm sorry about the pee smell. When I got home I couldn't find a mess, or smell anything so I'm not sure where it was coming from. There have been previous comments regarding occasional pet smells so I've been focusing on mopping the hardwood floors, and shampooing the carpets. I apologize for that detracting from your visit here. I know the dogs loved all the attention that you gave them.
August 2017

Wei User Profile
August 2017
Shelly's place was spacious and clean and in a quite neighborhood. We have one floor to ourselves. She gave us a lot good recommendations. The dogs are separated from us. They barked when we first arrived but got very quite the second day. There is a little smells of the dogs but we got used to it very quick. Overall, it was a great experience.
Shelly User ProfileShelly is a superhost.
Response from Shelly:
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and got comfortable with the dogs. I apologize for the dog smell. It is something I have been working on eliminating with carpet shampooing and steam cleaning the laminate. I hope the rest of your trip went well.
August 2017

Michael User Profile
August 2017
Great house!

Anchorage, Alaska, United StatesJoined in July 2011
Shelly User ProfileShelly is a superhost.
Longtime alaskan, love to ski/travel/explore!
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings