Room with built in wardrobesRoom - outlook to front garden. Tinted windows
Private room
2 Guests
1 Bedroom
1 Bed
Per Night
You won’t be charged yet
16 travellers saved this place

About this listing

Our home is occupied by myself - a nursing student, my husband, two adult children, one at University studying Japanese and one working and 3 cats - Derek, Clive and Alan who are all 11 years old.
The room has a front outlook and tinted windows.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: £9
Cancellation: Flexible

Description

The space

The room is quiet with built in wardrobes and tinted windows to keep out the summer sun and which also add to privacy,; the spacious bathroom is shared with the adult children. The bathroom and toilet are separate with the bathroom having both a bath and shower. We have one main theater room with a selection of DVD's which you are most welcome to share with us. We also have a home network from which you can access a number of films and tv programmes. We have broadband and wireless access, if you don't have a pc / laptop we can usually let you borrow one.
We have a second theater room / games room with a Wii, Xbox and PlayStation.
We have a separate study where you can work (wired connection)

Guest access

Free to use any spaces except of course private rooms

Interaction with guests

Happy to help with information and for you to join us for family meals - additional cost. Happy for you to watch TV with us or just sit and chat or join in when we have neighbours over for drinks. Also happy to lend you my bicycle (ladies bike).

The neighbourhood

We live in a lovely neighbourhood, we all know each other and regularly get together for drinks and food. We have a park opposite the house and a few others close by. If you like to run or walk there are some really good routes from the house.
We are 10 minutes from Rockingham foreshore and a number of beautiful beaches. The fantastic Penguin island is close by too. Fremantle is approx. 30 - 40 minutes away where you can get a ferry to Rottnest Island and Mandurah about 30 minutes south. We are an hour's drive from Harvey and 2 hours from Margaret River
We are within walking distance of the new Baldivis shopping center which has a good selection of stores and banks, including supermarkets, hairdressers, fashion and sports stores, cafe's, a pub\sports bar\restaurant which has live music and with others opening soon. Plenty of fast food outlets - if you're into that and take-aways. Rockingham shopping center is about 10 minutes one way and Warnbro, a little less the other way.
We also have a number of pubs and restaurants away from the local shopping centers within a 5 – 10 minute drive

Getting around

Walking distance to Baldivis shops (15 mins) has cycle racks if you want to borrow my bike. Walking distance to bus stops with service to Warnbro Railway station (on the Mandurah line) trains run frequently to Perth from here (about 35mins duration) and also to Mandurah (about 15 -20 mins duration)

Other things to note

We have 3 cats who are all 11 years old. Apart from Alan - the white one - you are unlikely to see the other two as they are extremely nervous, but please be aware that they are around and that it is their house too.
Transport to and from the airport can be arranged in most cases at extra cost.
Breakfast is help-yourself to fruit, yogurt, toast, and cereal.
We can lend you a Transperth card ( pre-paid travel card for use on Perth and suburb buses and trains - $10 deposit) top up at own expense - dayrider paper tickets are cheaper though if traveling after 09:00 and family riders - up to 2 adults on one ticket - on weekends and public holidays.


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)

No smoking in the house or garden.
No pets.
Must be respectful of family and family home and private spaces.
Please be quiet when coming in after 22:00pm and going out before 06:00


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

Your Host


Jayne

Jayne

Baldivis, Australia · Joined in May 2015

After spending 28 years in IT I am now studing to be a Registered Nurse at University.
I grew up in the UK, moving to Australia in 2010 with my husband and 2 children who are now 20 and 18 one is also at Uni with me she's studying Japanese though and one working.
We have family in New York and the UK. We have a fantastic community where we live and spend a lot of time with our neighbours, we have movie nights together, go 4WD or just have a few drinks and some food.
We have 3 rescue cats (2 are very nervous), but no other pets and we try and grow our own veggies.

In addition to English my husband speaks a some French and my daughter Japanese.
We are walking distance to the shops (about 15 - 20 mins) which has a fair bit of variety including a bar with a restaurant - with another one opening soon (German themed), TimeZone, supermarkets, clothes shopping etc.

We're happy people who like to have a laugh and enjoy life. I believe it is never too late to start a new career and I am really happy being a full time student again.

We love traveling, we got married in Finland in an ice chapel, we backpacked around Europe for our honeymoon, we have done a bit of travel here is Australia including doing some bush camping, but plan to do a lot more.

Baldivis is a growing suburb, we have wineries and and a Macadamia Nut farm really close by. We have much better public transport connections now than we did 4 years ago and it's a short bus trip to the railway station then 35 mins into the city of Perth.
From here it is only a a couple of hours by car to the beautiful Margaret River region as well which is on a lot of visitors to do list.
Penguin island is not far and some amazing beaches too just 10 mins away.


Social Connections