the bedroomkitchen and dining table

Entire home/flat

7 guests

1 bedroom

4 beds

Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
7 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Take some time out in a beautifully renovated Swiss country house, situated in a lively village at the foothills of the Alps. There is a big garden and a breakfast terrace. Hiking trails and ski resorts are at the doorstep. Welcome to Switzerland!

The space

Hiking, biking and and skiing bring people from around the world to Switzerland and we are at the centre of it.
In summer, you reach the Lake of Constance by a 5min car ride or a 20min train journey with "Rosa", our village's romanic old stem engine.
World class hiking in the Alpstein is about half-an-hour car ride away and definitely a must see.
In winter, you are about an hour (car or train) away from Eastern Switzerland top notch skiing areas (Davos, Klosters, Arosa, Laax). Three passionate snowboarders live in the house. Ask us, we are happy to give some tips!
Also, there are maps and flyers of the region if you need.

Guest access

You will stay in a traditional wooden Swiss "Appenzeller House", which over the last decades has been renovated without losing its charm.
The apartment has a double bed in the bedroom and an unfoldable couch in the living room. It is built for two couples. If you are more people, we provide up to two more single beds.
Fully equipped kitchen, fridge, bathroom with toilet and bathtub, washing machine, "TV"* and fireplace in the living room are at your disposal.
Also, go ahead and use the backyard terrace when its sunny. The view over the lake is magnificent!

*Note on the TV: There is an old TV that might or might not be working on the day of your arrival. We figured that guests hardly ever use it because they bring there laptops and live-stream. If you feel nostalgic, however, give it a shot and zap trough some Swiss-German TV shows.

Interaction with guests

Its a family house with grown up kids (me being one of them). That means my father is usually here to help and we kids come and go. We are multi-national travelers and love to meet people from other places. You also might find some souvenirs and maps around the place. Since you enter the flat through a different door, you will have your privacy if needed.

Other things to note

Piri and Janos, my dad's two Hungarian Vizlas live in the living room upstairs. They are super friendly (and smart!!). You won't come across them as you enter from a different door, but if you want you can ask my dad for an introduction :)

The space
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 4
Check In: Anytime after 6PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Entire home/flat


Extra people: 17 / night after 2 guests
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed, 1 single bed
Common spaces
2 sofa beds

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 6PM

- Some days, we are all here. Some days, we all flew out and my father is working. This is way the general check in is 6pm (when for my father is back from work). Of course if you come earlier, it is entire possible. Either you might find someone else who will show you the room, or we get you instructions on how to find the keys to the house. Has worked well in the past, now worries.

- We are all non-smokers and the whole house is made of wood. Please don't smoke inside (nor in the windows). Obviously there is a fire hazard but its also very difficult to get the smell out of the wood and fabrics again. Its really expensive to clean it and thats why this is the only rule we are very strict about. Up to 500€ cleaning fees may be charged for smoking inside the house. There are two terraces where you can enjoy your cigarets...

- There is parking for one car per booking. If you have more than one car, you have to find a parking spot in the village. Please don't leave your car on our neighbour's parking lot.

Other than that, just common sense :) If you accidentally break something, just let us know, we won't be mad.



Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.

Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher

2 nights minimum stay

22 Reviews

Check In
Mireia User Profile
May 2017
The apartment is in a nice area, but is a ground floor and without any direct view to the lake.

Robert User Profile
January 2017
this place is not for us!
Nils User Profile
Response from Nils:
wow, after 1,5 years of hosting and over 100 happy guests and 60 kind reviews, our first (and so far only) one star review. I knew this was coming :) I felt the need to inform our past and future guests that this review came with a refund request of over 600 USD (50% of the booking) because the they had left 2 days early on a two weeks stay. On top of that, they just left, didn't cancel or even send an email, just left the apartment open with the key inside for us to find out after the booking expired. No word spoken since then, just the refund request notification a week earlier. Guys, if you need to change your travel plans, we are very flexible but we have to know. You told me you didnt go further to Milan because you were ill Robert, that might have been the reason here too? No problem, but why didn't you tell me of your plans before? So next time, please, please, please tell us when the issue arises... not a week after you left.. then there is not much we can do anymore :( Sorry we departed on a bad foot... still I hope you got the most out of your journey and had some memorable moments, All the best, Nils
January 2017

Andrea User Profile
October 2016
Good place to stay for some days of relax. You can find all you can need to leave in a typical Swiss house with a great view from the mountains on the Bodensee.

Daryl User Profile
September 2016
Nil's place was perfectly peaceful and beautiful surrounding nature. My mother and brother that was with me found the place to be very comfortable and nice. Overall it was a wonderful time spent at Nil's place.

Byron User Profile
September 2016
We communicated mostly with email and via ABNB. Nils answered very quickly and always with just what we needed.

Miffy User Profile
August 2016
We really enjoyed our stay in Heiden. The view is just awesome. The location is really close to Bodensee. Nils's father Thomas was very helpful. Nothing to complain;-)

Cynthear User Profile
August 2016
great host with fantastic location!!

This host has 42 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Saint Gallen, SwitzerlandJoined in December 2014
Nils User Profile

I'm Nils, a PhD student in history, frequent traveler myselft and part time host with my family in our old country home in Switzerland, which kids are slowly moving out from.
We have been hosting for 2 years now and and added a second room to the first one. We already made very good experience with the photography service for the first listing and though it might help the newer one too.
Looking forward to working with you,

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.

This is Nils’s place.
Tamas and Veronika help host.
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings