Summer simplicity with ceiling fan.Winter stacked comfort


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

1 shared bath


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

1 shared bath

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

I've always loved meeting new people, especially in my travels, so I welcome you to share my spacious 900 sq ft shabby chic apartment with me in my lovely Brooklyn neighborhood while enjoying all NY has to offer!

After reading the full description of my listing, if you still you still have any questions, please feel free to contact me and ask away!


Amenities

Prices
Extra people: £8 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: £20
Security Deposit: £241

Description

The space

I live in a beautiful 900sqf, cozy, quiet, SMOKE-FREE, shabby chic top floor apartment with elevator within one of Brooklyn's premier tree-lined neighborhoods. The apartment will be shared with me but you get your own private room.

Private Bedroom includes:
- Ceiling fan
- 1 private closet in bedroom
- Clean linens, sheets and blankets, posture-pedic pillows
- Alarm clock
- Full-length mirror
- Iron and ironing board
- Quiet (non NYC traffic noise) night sleep

Shared bathroom includes:
The modern full bath supplied with towels and toiletries (i.e. shampoo, conditioner, hair dryer, soap, toothpaste).

Shared kitchen includes:
- Full set of cookware and flatware
- Large refrigerator
- Regular size stove/oven
- Microwave and toaster oven
- Spacious counter and cabinet space

Shared dining and living room area for eating or computer work space.

When you arrive, you will also be provided:
- Wireless internet password
- Metro card on loan so you don't have to buy one
- Access to in-building washer and dryer
- One set of keys. Please don't lose them. This is a security building. I will ask for $150 to replace keys and locks if lost.
- Information on places to explore in Manhattan and the revived Brooklyn
- Directions to local grocery stores (big and small), clothing shops, and local cultural flares.

As your hostess, I will be happy to make suggestions of activities. I'm bilingual, English and Cantonese being my primary languages, with an understanding of Mandarin and working on my Rosetta Stone Italian.

Do not hesitate to reach out with any questions. I look forward to providing you a home away from home.

Guest access

You will have your own room + shared apartment privileges + laundry room + set of keys.

Please tidy up after yourself if you use the kitchen.

Paid laundry room with washers and large dryers ($5/cycle includes wash, dry, detergent and softener) in the basement of the building. Please ask.

Interaction with guests

I work from home so I'll be more than happy to help with directions and suggestions for places to visit. Just ask!

The neighbourhood

Safe, quiet, affluent residential neighborhood with easy access to Brooklyn and Manhattan attractions.

20 mins. by train and 15 mins. bike ride to the famous Coney Island Beach and Boardwalk.

Getting around

Public transportation in New York is FANTASTIC!! But if you want still prefer riding around in a car, we have plenty of taxis, private car service and everyone uses Uber here! From the apartment:

* 8 mins to the subway
* 40 mins by subway to Lower Manhattan
* 5-15 mins to surrounding supermarket, pharmacies, banks, and variety of local restaurants (Chinese/Kosher/Mex/Japanese/Deli/Pizza, etc.)

Coming from the Airport
* By Car: Taxi and private car service. (I can help you make arrangements ahead of time).

* By Subway: The subway can take you directly from the airport to my place, but depending on how much luggage you have, I recommend taking a taxi or car service. (I can provide subway directions ahead of time as well and meet you at the subway stop).

Other things to note

Arrival:
Please let me know your arrival itinerary with your booking so that I can make arrangements to either welcome you personally or coordinate a way to leave you a key.

Parking:
Mostly 24/7 free street parking throughout the neighborhood (please pay attention to street signs on time restrictions for street cleaning). Often you can park right outside the building.


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in time is 1PM - 12AM (midnight).
Check out by 11AM

- Double lock all doors coming in or out of apartment
- NO OUTSIDE GUESTS ALLOWED: If you have family/friends in town, please ask them to wait outside for you.
- Turn off all lights when leaving the apartment.
- REMOVE SHOES when inside the house (I keep my apt clean and the streets of NY can be dirty). Slipper are provided if needed.
- NO SMOKING (including e-cigarettes) or illegal drugs of any kind allowed.
- Please clean after yourself when using kitchen tools, dishware, and utensils.
- Be respectful of neighbors, this is a very quiet building
- Avoid scuffing walls with luggage.
- Request instructions for use of appliances and kitchen supplies
- You fully understand this is a SHARED apartment with me. You are booking a private bedroom in a SHARED apartment.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

16 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Maha User Profile
October 2016
I had an excellent stay in Lucy's apartment. My room was spacious and immaculate, the bed was comfortable, and the building was very nice. Lucy was a wonderful host, and I truly appreciate her efforts to go the extra mile and make my stay as hassle-free as possible. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to others.

Lauren User Profile
September 2016
Lucy was a really great host who was always so happy to give us recommendations on things to do and places to eat. She was very prompt with communications and worked very hard to make our stay smooth (she even has a map to the nearest subway on the back of her door!) Her apartment was spacious and clean - the bedroom is nice and big, and the bathroom and kitchen are clean and lovely. I would definitely stay with Lucy again and would recommend anyone to do the same.

Preethi User Profile
September 2016
Lucy's place was clean spacious, comfortable and nicely furnished. She was super friendly and very accommodative of my changing schedule. The little cues she had written on the walls were a nice touch! The neighborhood was safe and I felt at home! :) I would definitely stay here again if I visit the city.

Santosh User Profile
September 2016
Lucy place was awesome and exactly as described on website. Safe location in a Jewis community and 3-4 block walk to get subway. huge amount of 24X7 free parking in area. love staying there.. very clean place

Serena User Profile
September 2016
Lucy was a wonderful and welcoming host! I arrived earlier than expected and she was always ready to help. The neighbourhood is very safe and there are various subway stops close by, which are handy for getting around. The room was clean and I felt very at home during my stay! I will definitely be staying again!

Stephanie User Profile
August 2016
Lucy was kind and informative. She was clear with direction and helpful in every way and adaptable for my needs. The bed was super comfortable and the space was super adequate.

Charles User ProfileCharles is a superhost.
August 2016
Lucy was a fantastic host! She communicated with us through the whole process and was extremely responsive to all our needs! She was a delight to chat with and was so helpful to us as we tried to navigate our way around. Her place is immaculate and comfortable. Lucy came out to the freestyle frisbee tournament that I was participating in! Wow! We will stay with her again when we get the chance!

New York, New York, United States · Joined in July 2015
Lucy User ProfileLucy is a superhost.

I've traveled all over the world for fun and exploration, but mostly to meet new and unique individuals who love sharing their everyday lives and experiences with me. Travelling has allowed me to learn about new cultures and build relationships with diverse people who have taught me the true meaning of living a full life.