garden roomEstablished garden in spring


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Quiet neighbourhood overlooking the Jamieson valley, with filtered glimpses of the escarpment. Pleasant garden with abundant flowering shrubs in spring. The room is comfortable, has its own en-suite and opens onto a leafy well-established garden. Please note that there is one double room space only in this listing. Pets aren't allowed in this space.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 3PM - 10PM
Check Out: 10AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: £12
Weekly Discount: 13%
Weekend Price: £41 / night

Description

The space

The house is within walking distance of Wentworth Falls train station and buses service the area, including nearby villages, though it is is not frequent. The nearest bus stop is just around the corner on the highway. Pickup from the station is by arrangement if needed, with advance warning. Check-in is generally after 3 o'clock, or flexible any time after that by arrangement. Late check-in is available if needed (again, by arrangement). Laundry and drying facilities/ironing board are available to use.

Guest access

Travellers can do their own thing or be part of the household. You are free to share the comfortable sun-room with access to the rear garden, and the company of Frieda the friendly German Shepherd outside. She's a very gentle giant, and needs a lot of TLC at this time of her life - she will appreciate any attention guests are willing to give! Repeated ball-kicking is advised if you want to be friends with her.
There is a comfortable lounge and a daybed in the sun-room which you are welcome to relax on, and plenty of books to browse. You can have your breakfast either in the sun-room which adjoins the accommodation, your own room, or if you are feeling sociable, or travelling alone, in the dining room in the main area of the house. You are also welcome to use the pleasant patio areas situated in the rear and front garden in fine weather. Note that the entrance foyer is adjacent to the en-suite accommodation.

Interaction with guests

I'm happy to help out with advice about restaurants and cafes, things to do, recommendations and transfers to and from the station if needed. If you're travelling alone, and feel like a casual lunch or dinner companion during your stay, I'd be happy to join you at a local restaurant. Feel free to ask. You can interact as much or as little as you want, but i'm happy to chat too. If guests just want privacy, and need to chill out, or stay out, that's fine too.

The neighbourhood

There are great walks nearby, such as the national pass heritage walk, and the Charles Darwin walk, with hanging swamps and lovely waterfalls, bird-watching and sightings of an endangered Blue Mountains skink along the way. You can visit the Conservation Hut (only 20 minutes walk down a track from the house, or a couple of minutes by car) and the Grandview Hotel in the village for local history and tasty dining, as well as many good cafes and restaurants. There is a bakery in the village. On Monday and Tuesday nights there is a two-for-one deal for $26.00 at the Grandview Hotel, with a special Muesday menu. There is a taxi rank outside the station in the main street of the village. There are two small grocery stores in the village, two pizza places, and a Chinese restaurant. The local hotel is quite ok for dining, with a friendly bar and helpful staff. Nearby towns are Leura, with spectacular gardens and great shopping and cafes, and Katoomba, which features wonderful natural scenery in a world class national park, and the beautifully restored Carrington Hotel. Try the patisserie in the main street - great cakes! They also do nice Malaysian food. If you like North indian cuisine, the Tamerin restaurant at Leura is great. I eat there often with friends or family. Mesa Bario in Lawson is a fantastic Mediterranean restaurant. The Garage in Leura is very good for fine dining, or just lunch or coffee (just don't order too much.) Blackheath with its antique stores, nature trails, bookshops and cafes, and its Rhododendron gardens, is only fifteen minutes drive away. The lovely Wentworth Lake is a relaxing place to walk and picnic, and you can stroll around the entire lake. Wentworth Falls is my favourite village in the Blue Mountains, and I love living here. If you want to wander further afield, Bathurst, Orange, Cowra and beyond are very interesting towns to visit, with an array of natural, culinary and cultural attractions. Try the sweet shop on the way to Lithgow, which has great home made fudge. There are some great op shops to be found if you like collecting old wares, too. See as movie at the Art Deco cinema at Mt. Victoria, or at The Edge in Katoomba, have lunch in Blackheath and enjoy the local walks.

Getting around

Wentworth Falls is accessible from Central station in Sydney, and every major village here is accessible by train. A local bus service operates to connect the villages, and the taxi rank is conveniently located at the train station. I am happy to provide transport to/from the station if needed, when guests come by train and don't have a hire-car.

Other things to note

Guests please note that the house pets are not free to roam in the bushland. The cat, Mao, is not allowed outside to prevent loss of wildlife (and loss of cat). The dog is outside in the back garden during the day, in the main house at night. Both are in their twilight years.
The owner is allergic to cigarette smoke, so it is a completely non-smoking space, inside and outside the house.


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 3PM - 10PM

Guests who are quiet, friendly and respectful of others are welcome. This is a non-smoking (anywhere on the property) , non-partying house with two personable pets. The cat is old and can be cranky, and so I would prefer no pets. The cat is an inside cat who rules the sunroom, but she likes visitors and being petted, as does Freida the German Shepherd. Please take care not to let either pet escape when you are coming and going.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

48 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Stuart User Profile
April 2017
Friendly!

Josh User Profile
April 2017
Wonderful place and location. Close by to many activities and shops. Easy to communicate and get along with

Bethany User Profile
March 2017
I had a two night stay at Louise's lovely home, with its equally lovely, lush gardens. Louise is so friendly and easy to talk to, which was appreciated by this shy solo traveller! Louise was generous in providing a selection of teas, coffee, fresh milk, muesli and fruit. The room is in a private wing of the house and was totally clean and comfortable, and tastefully decorated. The bed was great, the linen and towels were soft. There was traffic/train noise, but it was not excessive. Frieda the dog is beautiful, very sweet and gentle. Don't be deterred if you're not a dog person - just spend your time in the front garden instead!
Louise User ProfileLouise is a superhost.
Response from Louise:
Thanks for being a great huest...much appreciated. Great suggestion Bethany...I have a couple which are essential in wet weather...I could maybe tuck one in behind a cupboard so it isn't in the way. Did you know there was a heated towel rail that could be used?
March 2017

Lisa User Profile
March 2017
Very handy to walks & all the cafes of Katoomba and Leura, Louise was most helpful with local information

Angus User Profile
March 2017
Louise was incredibly kind throughout my stay and very helpful in picking me up/ dropping me off from the railway station every dasy .The room was very comfortable and i enjoyed my stay .thank you Louise .
Louise User ProfileLouise is a superhost.
Response from Louise:
You're very welcome, Angus. Good to see people enjoying what the mountains have to offer.
March 2017

Weifeng User Profile
March 2017
Louise is very friendly and helpful and she gave us a lot of help.
Louise User ProfileLouise is a superhost.
Response from Louise:
It was a pleasure to host you!
March 2017

Elizabeth User Profile
February 2017
This is a large self-contained suite (hall, bed-sitting room with big bed, tables, chairs, desk, etc; laundry, bathroom) on a lovely garden, very private. It is within Louse's house in a very quiet residential street in Wentworth Fall, Blue Mountains, NSW, Australia. Guests would need their own car because the location is quite far from shops and public transport. Louise is a most efficient, warm and friendly host, with everything provided down to the last detail of a plate of grapes in the fridge. The cost is very reasonable and the environment much more pleasant than any hotel or motel. I highly recommend the experience.
Louise User ProfileLouise is a superhost.
Response from Louise:
Thanks for that informative feedback, Elizabeth - you were a lovely guest and I'm glad you were comfortable. You may not have read this on the site but I'm very happy to drop people where they need to go, like parties, the station, other villages etc and have sometimes accompanied travellers on forays to restaurants etc. if they don't feel like eating out alone. I get quite a few visitors who don't have a car, especially from overseas, and I try to make their experience as good as possible. Just in case you come back another time! The way my older son puts it - "Mum, you're like a concierge." To me, that's part of the pleasure of having people to stay. best regards, Louise
February 2017

Wentworth Falls, Australia · Joined in October 2015
Louise User ProfileLouise is a superhost.

I'm a teacher and writer who likes a quiet life, and I also enjoy meeting new people. Those who need to practise their English skills are especially welcome. I myself love to travel, and favourite recent destinations have been Canada and the US, especially New Mexico, Arizona and Utah. Anywhere where nature is stunning and the people are friendly is okay with me. When I travel I prefer staying i(URL HIDDEN)with real people as opposed to impersonal hotels, especially when the hosts are friendly and knowledgeable about their location, and it's convenient and close to public transport. As a host I am casual and like people to relax and take the opportunity to visit the well-known attractions that the area has to offer.

Response rate: 100%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within an hour

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.