New heated wood floors throughout and newly painted and decorated too!Newly renovated!  Brand new sofa bed with chaise lounge.

Entire home/flat

4 guests

1 bedroom

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Exposed 1871 brick walls. Large queen bedroom. New sofa bed in living room. Walk to Byward market, Convention centre, skating/boating on Rideau canal, Parliament Hill, U of Ottawa, NAC, Chateau Laurier, shopping.

The space

I accept last-minute, same-day reservations.

This charming 1871 heritage condo is fully-restored, clean and conveniently located. It has its own new washer and dryer. It is well stocked with essentials (soap and shower gel, TP, food basics, coffee, tea, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, ) and is located in the heart of downtown Ottawa.

CONVENIENTLY CLOSE TO ALL MAJOR ATTRACTIONS and within walking distance of Parliament Hill, the Byward market, the Rideau canal, University of Ottawa, multiple embassies...

- perfect for a single person, a couple, or three to four people
- heated wood floors throughout
- washer and dryer in unit

- flat screen TV (42")
- LED HDTV with VIP cable package (over 290 channels)

- queen-size bed in the large private one-bedroom
- new sofa bed for 2 in the living room
- all bedding, towels, hand towels, face cloths

Fully-equipped, well-stocked galley kitchen including:
- stove and fridge
- microwave oven
- stainless steel pots and pans
- full dinnerware set
- abundance of cooking utensils, cutlery and glassware
- coffeemaker
- selection of dried goods, spices, rices, grains, baking needs, teas, coffee, etc., all complimentary

- hi-speed internet (wired or wireless connection)

- Parking is optional. Parking is a 1/2 block away (30 second walk) and is $16 for up to 24 hours per vehicle with in/out privileges. No reservation required.

- it is a non-smoking, pet-free building. Though I accept guests with children, the apartment is not "child-proofed".

Guest access

This is your apartment while you are visiting. You have the place entirely to yourself but I am only a text, email or phone call away if you require assistance during your stay.

Interaction with guests

This is a an opportunity for my guests to explore all that Ottawa has to offer without interruption though I am only a text, email or phone call away.

Other things to note

Within a short walk of the university of Ottawa.

The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Entire home/flat
Self check-in: Keypad

Family/Kid Friendly
Wireless Internet

Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee £18
Security Deposit £124
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM

I ask that our guests be respectful of my home, the furnishings and supplies, and also respectful of my fellow neighbours. Excessive noise will not be tolerated. Quiet time starts at 11:00 p.m. every night. Any excessive noise will not be tolerated (my neighbours are reasonable and will only complain if it is obvious that the people staying are having a party that did not end at 11:00 p.m. A party can be less than 4 people ~ it is not the size of the group but the volume of the noise). Noise complaints will be dealt with no matter what the time is. Failure to heed a first warning of a noise complaint will result in a demand to vacate the premises immediately, which includes a loss of your deposit and no refunds. It is regrettable that I must be this clear with the noise rule but I have had a few past guests abuse my trust and booked the property with the intent to party. Since I have added this noise rule I have had no issues.

Please leave the home in the same condition it was when you arrived. Collect up all garbage and recycling and leave in the bins in the kitchen. Please wash your dishes.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

The minimum night stay for this listing varies.
Add your travel dates to see more details.

142 Reviews

Check In
Mathieu User Profile
July 2017
Catherine's apartment is perfectly equipped, very clean and nicely decorated. At approximately 15min walk to the historical center and restaurant, this is a perfect place to visit Ottawa !

Patrick User Profile
July 2017
A well-furnished and nicely-decorated apartment with plenty of space and amenities. It is located in a decent area in Ottawa, and transit options are fairly convenient. Checking in and out is easy and quick. Put simply, the place is nice for the price.

Sarah User Profile
June 2017
This apartment is really cute and all themed around the ocean, with oars and boats and lighthouses everywhere. The location is okay - about a 30 minute walk to parliament. The apartment clearly isn't finished though - the paint is only half done in the bedroom and the closet is unfinished. The bed and couch were comfy. The showerhead was terrible and definitely needs to be replaced. The WiFi also didn't work very well with 2/3 of our phones. Overall it was a pretty good place to stay and I would recommend it for one or two nights.
Catherine User Profile
Response from Catherine:
I was not aware the showerhead was horrible. It had not been mentioned before but I did get it looked at and now all is good! Thanks for letting me know.
June 2017

Jenny User Profile
June 2017
Catherine's space was cozy, clean + adorable! We slept in comfort, with super soft sheets and a great bed. We definitely recommend!!!

Jeff User Profile
May 2017
Had a great stay at Catherine's. The place is 10-15 min walking distance to the Byward Market and downtown which was perfect. It's a cute older building so you have to be on the quiet side, would definately stay there again.

Mika User Profile
May 2017
Best airbnb ever! Super cozy and lovely place! And the location is convenient too! Highly recommend!

Milaina User Profile
May 2017
Although the actual stay was satisfactory, communication to solve a date issue was terrible. I was disrespected by the host who suggested that I work out my issues with airbnb and who was extremely unhelpful in the process. Her words exactly were, "I am almost 60 and I figured it out on my own". I was appalled to have such terrible service. Be prepared for this should you book with this host.
Catherine User Profile
Response from Catherine:
The incident Milaina is describing in her review started when I received a request from Milaina to book my suite. I responded immediately that I would accept her booking. Wthin a few minutes Milaina contacted me frantically explaining she had chosen the incorrect dates. I assured her it could be worked out and that this website would assist her in changing the dates so she would not be charged a cancellation fee (I am not able to do that for her-only Airbnb can). ~~~ I was typing answers to her increasingly frantic emails about how to exactly do this as quickly as I could but it was hard to keep up. She was sending me 2-3 more emails for every one I got sent and she was getting angrier and more frustrated with each one. I have helped many other guests contact this website for assistance over the years and it usually goes quite smoothly. I was surprised, after 8-10 emails that Milaina was still having difficulty but I knew I could find a way to get Milaina the help she needed if she would just take a slower approach and wait for my instructions. When Milaina responded next with, "there is no email either. I'm getting pretty frustrated..." I responded, "Go to the help desk or help line. After you go through possible answers to your question, it gives you a chance to send a message. I am almost 60 and I figured it out! :-) I know you will too!" I wrote this, with what I thought was humour, to gently point out to her that I am not the reason for her frustration and that she is treating me rudely. Maybe, in hindsight, I should have been more forthright in pointing out her rudeness to me. Within a minute of that email she sent back her response, "I figured it out. I have submitted the alteration request." There were no further emails from Milaina. She did not follow up with a "thank you", or "sorry for the confusion", or "I appreciate your help"...but there was another mix up later, on Milaina's part, moments before her arrival. Milaina had not read my arrival email closely and misunderstood how she was to check in. I again received two emails back to back 20 minutes before her arrival. By her second email she had figured it out on her own. I took this latest mix up with humour and figured she is just one of those people who panic easily so I responded with, "Yes! That is now the correct way!". Two weeks later I receive a review from her that describes me as a very unhelpful host. I could take offence but if I let something like this unfair review get to me then I would not be in the best frame of mind to help my future guests. It is difficult to hear such negative things about oneself but I choose to look at this more objectively and move forward.
May 2017

This host has 746 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Ottawa, CanadaJoined in November 2012
Catherine User Profile

When I travel and stay in private homes I expect to have all the basics available (like spices, coffee, tea, sugar, bathroom tissue, laundry soap) as well as finding the kitchen to have an abundance of pots/pans, knives, serving bowls, baking sheets, casserole dishes, etc.

Since I have found this is not always the case, I understand how disappointing that can be, so I tend to go overboard and offer everything I can think of!

I am a retired interior designer and a Cordon Bleu grand diplome chef. I have taken my training and experience from these two fields and applied it to offering the best accommodation for my guests, including a well-stocked kitchen! :-))

Languages: English
Response rate: 98%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings