Entrance of the apartment1/2 bath on the first floor
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

3 bedroom townhouse with 2 1/2 bathrooms. Cozy but roomy. Lived in by two girls. Within walking distance of the stadium and also close to a MSU's bus stop. Quiet neighborhood. Plenty of great restaurants nearby- one is a 5 min walk.

The space

Normal layout. But our furniture for the most part are antiques or pieces we have restored in our spare time. We're constantly rearranging, adding items, and donating others.

Guest access

We offer free fiber optic Internet and the tvs have internet cable provided (please dont delete our recordings)

Interaction with guests

My roommate and I work almost everyday, sometimes up to 12 hour a day. So we will be gone a lot of the time except mid morning and late night before midnight. We are very easy going people and if guests want their own space and privacy we respect that. If guests are more talkative and open we both love getting to know new people and entertaining.

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 4PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Private room


Extra people: £12 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: £20
Weekly Discount: 12%
Weekend Price: £24 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn More

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 4PM

Please only smoke on the outside patio
No food upstairs
Shoes are left at the door
Coffee, milk, eggs, and bread are yours for the taking. We will make sure to have snacks available but most other food is off limits, or maybe not, just ask first please
We are not big drinkers but have no problem with guests drinking
No parties or other guests over unless they are staying the night - then it's an additional fee



Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

1 night minimum stay

10 Reviews

Check In
Cheri User Profile
May 2017
Convenient location for all activities related to Mississippi State University. The room we stayed in had a double bed which was too small. The size of the bed was unadvertised. I guess I should have asked beforehand. Owner came home at midnight and was running appliances all night including tv, washer and dryer at 3am causing us to have to go downstairs and explain that we couldn't sleep. Better cover that before you book.
Madeline Harper User Profile
Response from Madeline Harper:
Cheri, There are many pictures of the room you stayed in - it is obviously a full sized bed. If this was such an issue you could have let us know and we would have given you the third bedroom which has a queen. You never mentioned anything to us and we left both of our numbers to reach us. It says in our profile about us that we both work in restaurants and seeing how it was Cinco de Mayo and graduation you may be able to grasp the fact that we were going to be at work until late. (1:30am to be exact) your comment makes it seem like we were out partying or just staying out late for fun which was not the case. We got home and turned off the stair lights that were left on to make our guests more comfortable. And then locked the door. We had to wash our work clothes at that time because we had to be back up at our jobs in the morning. We wash our clothes every night. It's a routine. We found that our other guests had already washed a load and left it in the washing machine so we dried their clothes. They also had another load that had an odor so we washed their things first, then ours. We kept the doors to the laundry area closed unless it was time to switch anything. The dryer was the only machine running at 3am. And yes it does make noise, like a dryer. but I tested out your noise complaints and from the middle bedroom I can not hear the dryer, the television (and we turned the volume up from '10' which was loud to you to '25' and heard NOTHING). I am 27 with nothing wrong with my hearing so I'm guessing you are both light sleepers with supersonic hearing. Also, neither of us were on the phone so I don't know where that accusation comes from but that was false. In fact we weren't even talking. I myself was outside and my roommate was inside of watching TV. We have lived in this "small space" of an apartment (1500 square feet) for two years and have been doing Airbnb for over a year and we have never had so many complaints from anyone COMBINED. No one has ever told us they could hear any noise coming from downstairs because frankly unless we were blasting music and yelling you couldn't hear anything from any bedroom upstairs. We also have never had someone insult and scold us in our home. We both work in the service industry and know how to accommodate customers and our guests and I treat everyone with respect. That being said I understand your husband was tired and it was the middle of the night but the way he talked to Abbye was completely disrespectful. Yes, you are guests and paying customers but the dryer and low volume television do not constitute him telling her how she needs to behave in her own house. There are ways to get your point across without putting someone down, they are called manners. He could have just asked her to turn down the volume and stop running the dryer so he could sleep better but that's not how he asked. Actually I say asked but it was more like demanded. Now let me address more of your complaints (btw the other couple had zero complaints and THANKED us for their wonderful stay just as many have before). Now the apartment complex is harder to find but all it takes is a call or a good gps system. Just good advice next time you stay somewhere that isn't a hotel. Now you mentioned in the private notes that our place wasn't as clean, I'm sorry it was completely sterile but we cleaned and scrubbed and dusted and swept and mopped the day before so everything was in tip top shape. Again, never a complaint about the cleanliness of our apartment. It looks exactly like our pictures plus or minus some furniture pieces. There are a few spots on the carpet, we rent, not own, the place. We have tried to get all the stains out but some, like some guests on Airbnb, are impossible. If you feel like the price was too much that is ridiculous! It was suppose to be more but there was a glitch in the system. It was GRADUATION weekend. I'm sure you checked the prices of hotels around town and saw how much they were or they were booked. You got a great deal but we too busy finding the flaws in everything. I will stand by my review that you did leave the room spotless. But I thought you were the other couple or I would have not given you five stars on anything to warn people of how difficult of people you are to deal with. I feel like this goes without saying but I hope you enjoy Starkville but you are not ever welcome to stay at our place again. We enjoy Airbnb and have never had bad guests until you guys. So maybe plan in advance to stay at a hotel and leave Airbnb for people that are friendly and want to be around other people. Not complete silence, people you can talk down to, and someone that will try to make you a repeat customer; because you two are NEVER welcome back.
May 2017

Christopher User Profile
October 2016
Great communication and directions...loved the comfort of the bed AND the ceiling surprise! Strongly suggested as a place to stay!

Kevin User Profile
September 2016
Great place.

James User Profile
August 2016
The host canceled this reservation 10 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Lisa User Profile
April 2016
I had a lovely time! The room was comfortable and cozy. Madeline is very kind and made me feel welcome.

Kyle User Profile
April 2016
Abbye and Madeline were great hosts! They were flexible with my check-in time, and it was very easy for me to come and go as I needed. They live in a quiet neighborhood with good neighbors and everything was as shown in the pictures. I'll definitely be staying there again when I need a place to crash on my next quick trip through Starkville! Thanks ladies!

Breana User Profile
April 2016
The host canceled this reservation 4 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

This host has 6 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Starkville, Mississippi, United States · Joined in September 2015
Madeline Harper User Profile

Hello there! Welcome to Madeline and Abbye's profile. We hope that by reading this it encourages you to come stay at our humble abode while you are visiting Starkville, MS.
We are both MSU alumni and are working towards a plan to continue our education. In the mean time, Abbye is a bartender at Harvey's in Starkville & Madeline is a server at No Way Jose.
In our spare time we enjoy watching movies, gardening, restoring old furniture, shopping, trying new foods, and meeting new people.
When we are hosting guests (haven't used Airbnb for traveling just yet) we are very easy going. Our check in and out times are very flexible. Even though we are easy going hosts, we like to keep everything clean and tidy in our home.
We enjoy staying up late and watching tv. the insulation of the apartment is very sound so no noise can be heard from the bedrooms upstairs. The upstairs bedrooms are great for tired guests who need a good nights rest.
We have provided the options of renting out just one or two of our rooms or the entire townhouse!
We are also accommodating to the more social guest by gladly sharing the common areas. Thank you for taking the time to look at our listing and we hope to have you as guests soon!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.