large kitchen/dining and games areaKitchen with views to the garden
Seaside 2 bedroom holiday cottage
4 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
4 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

This pretty holiday cottage is minutes from the beach and in the heart of well known seaside favourite, Walberswick. Steps from a Gastro pub and a lovely village green with playground, shops and cafe. Perfect for romantic getaways & family holidays.

The space

Spacious downstairs living room /kitchen with fully equipped kitchen and all mod cons. Great for dining and playing family games. The cosy sitting room features a log fire, perfect to snuggle down in winter. In summer the kitchen opens up to a garden with seating for 4 people , a beautiful spot to catch the sun's rays and read the weekly newspapers.

Guest access

The whole house is available to guests. And everything is walking distance. You never need to use a car, just cycle, walk or take the traditional rowing boat ferry over to Southwold for shopping and sightseeing.

Interaction with guests

We are on the phone or on email. You can contact us at any time during your stay.

Other things to note

Everything you could ever need is within arms reach.
The Tuck Shop is three minutes walk which has everything you need from washing powder to ice creams. The village green hosts a number of shops, gift shops and a cafe serving delicious lunch and teas. If you walk 5 minutes from the cottage, you reach the river which can be crossed by traditional wooden rowing boat and then a lovely walk to the quaint town of Southwold where you can find a larger selection of shops, beach front, pubs, cycle hire. Or take the kissing bridge further down the river.
There are some fantastic walks to Dunwich, Blytheburgh , across marshes filled with interesting bird and wildlife. It's a bird watching and hiking paradise. Walberswick is famous for its crabbing. THe National Crabbing Championships used to be held here until it became too popular. Children of all ages delight in catching crabs using a simple line, a weight and some bacon. Of course we put them back after catching. The Shepherd best haul has been over 100 but we have had years of practice. And at the end of the day, The Anchor Pub or The Bell Inn (both within a stones throw) offer hearty organic meals, great Adnams ales and wines or a yummy locally caught fish and chips.


Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee £60
Security Deposit £150
Weekend Price £130 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
2 single beds

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 2PM - 12AM (midnight)
Check out by 10AM

We are a family run cottage which has been in our family for generations. We just ask that you treat it with respect. If you break something let us know and replace it. Please don't smoke in the house.
We love to hear feedback. Let us know what you think. And we will always aim to improve.
If you have a dog, we don't mind little ones. But we think the house too small for large great danes. Let us know in advance if you have a dog.
Check in is at 2pm and check out is at 10am. Please respect these rules as our cleaners need to get in and clean before our next guests.
We provide a washing machine, dishwasher, vacuum cleaner, broom and lots of cleaning supplies. Please use them whilst in situ. Please make sure the dishwasher is turned on before you leave.
Please take your empty bottles over to the Anchor.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
The minimum night stay for this listing varies.
Add your travel dates to see more details.

45 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Liz User Profile
September 2017
Really lovely cottage, in a fantastic location, close to the pub, beach and Black Dog deli (all of which are worth visiting). As well as being being beautifully decorated, you get a welcome hamper with teabags, milk (in the fridge) and all those essentials when you arrive late, having travelled after work. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Andrew User Profile
September 2017
A fantastic cottage in a great location and would definitely stay again. We are at both pubs and the food was excellent in both. However the service was slow and we felt that they were complacent as their is no competition in Walberswick. We also sampled the Black Dog Delhi for a sandwich and cake at lunchtime and the food was fantastic. Great walks and a lovely beach.
Hannah User Profile
Response from Hannah:
Hi Andrew. Thanks for your feedback and review of the cottage and Walberswick. I do hope we can welcome you back to the cottage at some point . thanks Hannah
September 2017

Carole User Profile
September 2017
Very comfortable cottage in a really good central situation close to deli, cafe and the village's two nice pubs, yet at the time we visited ( September) it was very quiet and peaceful. The cottage is small but perfectly formed! The kitchen was really well equipped and so made it easy and a pleasure to cook in. We appreciated the welcome pack of some food essentials - bread, eggs, milk tea and coffee. Living room has two comfy sofas to stretch out on and relax after a busy day and the beds and bed linen were comfortable and guaranteed a good nights sleep. Quite steep staircase but hand rails either side make it feel safe. Plenty of hot water for baths. Was worried about parking ( yellow lines outside cottage) but a free parking permit is provided for car park very close to cottage, so no problems there. All in all a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Jen User Profile
September 2017
I would not recommend staying at this property. We were terribly disappointed about the quality and cleanliness of the property. We have stayed in many air B and B places and I have never been unhappy until this one. Yes the location is good but Quite frankly it resembled my first student house and the finish and the furniture we're dated and musty. This place isn't shabby chic.... just shabby. There are dirty marks all over the walls, one drawer had no bottom, a handle fell off a drawer as I opened it, the shower room had peeling paint, two lights not working, no shower seal and was dirty. The paintwork on the stairs is chipped and very shabby, even the front door and gardens are a mess with stinking crabbing buckets full of old bacon, flies and maggots. The sofas are stained and the cushions stink. Sorry to write this review but the detail is factual and not exaggerated.
Hannah User Profile
Response from Hannah:
Hi Jen We were saddened to receive your review and very sorry that you did not have a great experience. We appreciate your feedback and have notified the cleaner with your points who will ensure that the cottage is given a thorough clean and that our standards consistently improve. Ours is a Victorian seaside cottage and we are at the end of a very busy season; the cottage has given much joy and happiness to many guests this summer and we have had some lovely reviews this year. Now the season is over, like most other summer rentals we will focus on redecorating and maintenance. We recently invested in new carpets throughout the house, a new king size bed and bedroom lamps and side tables, new kitchen furniture and chair, new interiors and new linen so we are surprised you feel it looks like student accommodation.The cushions were all new at the beginning of the season and the furniture is regularly cleaned. I am sorry you felt it wasn’t clean. I would have been more than happy to have sent our cleaners back in to clean during your stay if you had contacted me then. We will immediately review the state of the chest of drawers. In keeping with the age and character of the cottage, some of the furniture is antique. If it has been damaged over the season, we will of course fix or replace. The cleaner could have removed the crabbing buckets. She has left them in the past as guests have re used crabbing lines and nets rather than having to purchase their own. But leaving the crabbing bait was not nice. We apologise. I will ask the handy man to fix the bathroom lights , thank you for letting us know and the shower which is currently being given a new shower sealant which I mentioned to you in an email during your stay. Sorry you felt that our accommodation is not up to your usual standards. We appreciate the time you have taken to feed back to us. Kind regards Hannah Shepherd and Lizzy Ferrier
September 2017

Alexia User Profile
August 2017
Great little cottage and perfect location for exploring Southwold and enjoying tranquil Walbersick. We stayed with our 8, 10 and 1 year old with all children sharing the front bedroom and managed pretty well. The older children loved having some indepencence to roam free in the village. We recommend the food at the Bell, the Anchor and everything at The Black Dog Deli including their ready meals. Would stay again.

John User Profile
June 2017
very well positioned clean and pleasant cottage in the heart of a lovely village with lots of good walks locally, e.g. across the marshes to dunwich /back along the beach, and nice stroll into southwold.

Stephanie User Profile
June 2017
wonderful spot near the sea.

This host has 3 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Denpasar City, IndonesiaJoined in May 2013
Hannah User Profile

I live in Bali where the weather is hot all year round. When not here, we are hanging out in the beautiful seaside village of Walberswick where we hike, crab fish, test the North Sea temperatures and visit the local gastro pubs.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings