Skip to content
This is a view up the terrace, to the main house which was built in 1710, and has been in our family since then.The terrace is a great place for breakfast, lunch or dinner - weather permitting - it is Ireland !
Entire house

Luxury 18th Century Georgian Stable Yard House

James

Luxury 18th Century Georgian Stable Yard House

6 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
2.5 baths
6 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
2.5 baths
HOME HIGHLIGHTS
Great location100% of recent guests gave this home’s location a 5-star rating.
James is a SuperhostSuperhosts are experienced, highly rated hosts who are committed to providing great stays for guests.

This 3 bedroom house, set in the C18th stable yard, with its own private courtyard garden is surrounded by 10 acres of beautiful gardens and sits close to The Green Barn Restaurant and Shop, and our walled organic kitchen garden. It has been decorated to the highest of standards by James an interior photographer and Joanna an interior designer. Built in 1710, and never been sold, and so for that reason it holds a particular charm. Check out our January and February deals we have just launched.

Amenities

Wireless Internet
Free parking on premises
TV
Essentials
Indoor Fireplace
Heating

Sleeping arrangements

Bedroom 1
1 super king bed
Bedroom 2
1 super king bed
Bedroom 3
2 single beds

House Rules

Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM

Availability

16 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check-in
Value
Tom User Profile
Tom
September 2017
James place was extremely charming and relaxing. The property is wonderful and i would gladly stay again. The communication from the host was appreciated highly. I would highly recommend James place.
Ciara User Profile
Ciara
August 2016
We had a nice stay at the stables.
James User Profile
Response from James:
Hi Ciara, Yes i am sorry that the fridge had been missed - we are working on the right cleaner and a serious check list is now in place. Alas The Green Barn is nearly there - but delays there have been due to archeological digs to start with and the the usual build delays....Mid October we hope. We have WiFi and decided with all the gardens, things to see and and good food, that we should not do the TV thing for a country pad such as this - apologies i must adjust the listing. This house has recently been redecorated so each week we do more, and i hope you appreciated some of that we offer.... One must always ask for things like private codes or infact anything ....but i should have mentioned - i apologise, All the best, James
August 2016
Tabitha User Profile
Tabitha
June 2018
I don’t even know where to start from the arrival to the departure and everything in between was exceptional!! James and his family went out of their way to make us feel like we were apart of the family with the most gorgeous garden setting to haute cuisine, I can safely say I h…
James User Profile
Response from James:
It was a pleasure to his you and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.
June 2018
Becca User Profile
Becca
May 2018
What a wonderful time we've had in the Stable House of the Burtown Property. James and Joanna were nothing short of wonderful hosts, with a fresh and hospitable nature. The walls are thick, and they were so helpful in getting us set up with an additional router for wifi. The hous…
James User Profile
Response from James:
Hi Becca, it was great to have you to stay and thanks for the wonderful feedback and your appreciation of all that we are doing, We hope to see you again, All the best, James.
May 2018
Niamh User Profile
Niamh
April 2018
A beautiful home that was lovely to spend some time in, lots of room whilst rooms were also cosy, warm and welcoming. Would recommend to anyone for a quiet stop off break while travelling around the area or just a weekend escape from busy life!
James User Profile
Response from James:
Thanks so much and glad you enjoyed yourself ....
April 2018
Stephen User Profile
Stephen
April 2018
House would not work for elderly people with limited mobility. Lack of acceptable WiFi, TV and board games left little to do on nights you did not go out. The restaurant was the highlight of the visit. Staff very friendly and helpful. My adult kids would go back in a heathbeatb b…
James User Profile
Response from James:
Hi Stephen, I have to say that I am mightily surprised by your feedback - especially that I was on site all the time bar one night and not once did you mention the above to me, and we spoke on a number of occasions at length, and you only had praise for the house and our restaurant, so much better to be straight with people, calling our house beaten up is shocking - its a recently converted stable yard, that renovated for ourselves when we got married, it has been totally redecorated just over 12 months ago. It is all freshly done - what do you mean by beaten up I wonder ? I am very saddened to firstly hear you say such a thing, and secondly that you do not have the decency to say anything to my (our) face. There is wifi throughout the house and a TV in the living room - its not a hotel and so there are not TV's in all the bedrooms. I spent over half an hour talking you through the house and there is a manual on every aspect of the house. I made you aware that we are just up the hill in the big house and my mother lives across the yard, and that we are on the end of our mobile at any time for any questions, so to say little communication is very untrue. I am surprised by your negative and untrue feedback.
April 2018
Amanda User Profile
Amanda
February 2018
Burton House is one of those special places that sneaks up you with its charm. You are staying on a running farm not a pretense of one. James handed us a loaf of homemade bread when we arrived. The Aga was on in the kitchen and he lit the fire in the sitting room before he left…

Hosted by James

Athy, IrelandJoined in March 2014
James User Profile
90 Reviews
3 References
Verified
James is a SuperhostSuperhosts are experienced, highly rated hosts who are committed to providing great stays for guests.
I am a photographer based in Ireland, but who travels quite a bit. Joanna is a designer and supurb chef, where she heads the restaurant that is situated in our beautiful home in Ireland called Burtown House. It is surrounded by 12 acres of lush flowers, woodland and vegetable gar…
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighbourhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings