Charming centrally-located home
Charming centrally-located home
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
2 baths
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
2 baths
You won’t be charged yet

Welcome to our unique detached heritage-style home in charming Strathcona Neighbourhood. Downtown, restaurants and bars of Gastown, seawall, Science World, transit, parks & amenities at your doorstep.

Pleasant open plan, high ceilings, spacious gourmet kitchen complete with granite countertops. Two large bathrooms, an extra large sofa to relax on and bikes to borrow. This listing is for the whole house with two double bedrooms and a comfortable sofa in the living room (sleeps 4+).

The space

Welcome to a charming new-old home. A heritage style outside, yet modern and bright inside.

The house is only 7 years old so we have all the mod cons. Situated in Strathcona, a cosmopolitan neighbourhood with under 10 min walk to downtown.

2 floored town home:

Upstairs: 2 double bedrooms and a full bath, two sinks & bath/shower.

Downstairs: Large open plan entertainment space with large sofa and cafe-style oak dining table. Another full bath with shower.

Chef's kitchen with large oven, fridge, freezer, microwave and dish washer

Super comfy sofa to put your feet up after a long day.

Guest access

Guests will have access to the whole home with access via the front door. It is a detached house.

Interaction with guests

Someone will meet you to show you around. After that we can always be contacted by phone and email. We can provide you with lots of tips and advice on the area, places to visit in Vancouver or any other information.


Amenities
Kitchen
Wireless Internet

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 couch

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 9AM - 10PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

11 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jessie User Profile
June 2017
The house is gorgeous and has everything you could need. There are two couches (one is perfect as a bed and the other would work dor a smaller person). It's very close to everything! We had no problem checking in or out and I'd absolutely stay at this space again.

Alex User Profile
March 2017
The hosts here are extremely helpful. When we came in, we were given a map of Vancouver also with another printed map with food locations that were some of their favorite places. Also the home itself was clean and beautifully decorated with various prints along with other colorful items. I would definitely suggest staying at this location.

Larissa User Profile
December 2016
We really enjoyed our stay in Vancouver at Tamsin's. The house was lovely, clean, warm and spacious. We had the luxury of having the entire house as Tamsin was away for most of the time we were there. We had a little hiccup getting in when we arrived but this may have been due to our planned late arrival (10pm). There are plenty of great places to eat and drink (and great coffee!) very close, Tamsin's recommendations were a good help. It was a quick bus ride or about a 20 minute walk to the city center. I would definitely recommend staying here for visiting the city/living like a local in Vancouver. Thanks again Tamsin.

Adam User Profile
November 2016
Our stay with Tamsin was great! From the beginning, she was responsive and helpful. She gave us more than one good restaurant recommendation and lent us bikes to ride in Stanley Park. The check-in/check-out process was no hassle and we were very happy with the house. The location was great and the house was clean. There was plenty within walking distance. All and all, it was a good trip. Thanks, Tamsin!

Davinder User Profile
September 2016
I want to start with the house. It was really spacious and clean house. Hosts are really helpful and nice but i want to bring up few things for future residents. Firstly, I never knew that there would be no free parking with the place until I reserved it, and finding a parking on street depends on your luck. Most of the parking lots closed at 10 p.m. House is great but neighborhood is really shady and scary. Walking on the street in the neighborhood is really unpleasant. Lots of homeless in the area. We went to nearby grocery store to buy food for my kid and it was really really smelly and neighborhood is basically in non english speaking area and we had a hard time explaining people in store what we are looking for but overall we had a really great time.
Tamsin User Profile
Response from Tamsin:
Hi Davinder. Thank you very much for your feedback. We’re glad you had a great time, thank you for staying with us. We did want to reply to a few of your points to clarify for future visitors: 1. We do mention that there is no parking with the apartment in the listing itself, and we did provide you with details of a secure parking lot that is open 24 hours and is 400m away from the house (Easy Park at 180 Keefer St, (URL HIDDEN) We’ve also found it pretty easy to find space in the free parking area next to the house, but agree it does depend a bit on the time of day. 2. We have lived in Vancouver for over 4 years and in all that time have never experienced, or heard of anyone experiencing, any threatening behaviour around our house. There are several smart cafes, restaurants and bars on the street with tables on the sidewalk, as well as a couple of bike shops, two gyms and two quiet parks. Our next door neighbours have two young children and they feel perfectly comfortable with the area. The area that has a lot of homeless people is a good four blocks north of the house. That area may seem intimidating if you are not familiar with the city, but there is no need to pass through it unless you choose to do so – there are plenty of grocery stores, restaurants, tourist attractions and transit options in other directions. 3. I suspect that the grocery store you visited which was “basically in a non-English speaking area” is part of Vancouver’s historic Chinatown, which is just around the corner and a key tourist attraction. Yes a lot of people there don’t speak perfect English, but we and most of our guests find that diversity a really interesting and fun part of Vancouver and have never had any trouble communicating.
September 2016

Brandis User Profile
September 2016
Though I didn't get a chance to meet Tasmin in person, she left very detailed arrival instructions and was readily available if I had any questions both prior to and at my arrival. It was extremely easy for me to retrieve the keys upon arrival and drop them off as well when departing. Her home is very lovely and I felt very comfortable and welcome. The images provided in the listing properly represent the really well. The house is in a very convenient location. The Chinatown neighborhood seems to be changing a lot (lots of new construction nearby which is a positive sign), but I felt very safe walking into the city both during the day and at night. There were a lot of restaurants and bars within a short walking distance. I was a little discouraged after a couple of other listings in Vancouver that seemed to be available for my dates were declined, but I'm absolutely happy that I was able to book and stay in Tasmin's beautiful home!!
Tamsin User Profile
Response from Tamsin:
Thanks Brandis, so glad you had an easy, convenient and comfy stay. Do come back anytime. p.s. we love that you visit a different city each year, you should blog your experiences. Safe travels!
September 2016

Diep User Profile
August 2016
My family and I stayed at Tamsin's house for 4 nights while in Vancouver. My two main concerns are with the parking (or lack thereof) and no TV. There was a garage attached to the house but it wasn't made available to us. So each night we had to look for parking either at a parking garage or metered. With my parents (60+) and a baby (18 months) that did become an issue for us. We had to make sure we had enough coins to reload the meter since it was a max of 2 hours (even though you're not suppose to do that, hehe). Second is no TV... I know we're on vacation and should be out enjoying the sights, but there were nights we wanted to just relax, avoid the Vancouver traffic and just watch TV... Luckily the house did have wifi... So we made do by netflixing on our own personal devices. Besides those 2 pain points, the house looks like it has been recently remodeled, very clean. We felt very comfortable in the house. Tamsin/Ewa were both were nice friendly and accommodating on such short notice.
Tamsin User Profile
Response from Tamsin:
Thanks for the feedback and glad you found the house clean and comfy. We have a monitor and Wifi that laptops can be plugged into. Canadian TV or subscription packages are not something we are interested in spending money on. We find everything online is better quality. We don't advertise a parking spot though have updated our listing with local parking info as follows: If you have a car the parking situation is: - Free parking on union street (just north of the house - far side of union street next to the park, other side is permit only). A spot is not always available though. - Otherwise there is an Easy pay parking between Main and Quebec (180 Keefer Street) the $14.75 day rate. (5mins walk away) - Or pay parking north of the house on Gore itself (opposite Roost Cafe) with 2 hour limits that need to be topped up. This is close to downtown Vancouver to expect a little bit of hustle and bustle!
August 2016

Vancouver, CanadaJoined in July 2011
Tamsin User Profile

Hi, I'm Tamsin,

I occasionally rent my home I co-own with my friend Ewa in Strathcona, Vancouver. It is very central yet in a leafy up and coming neighbourhood. We love it and can give you the best guide.

I'm mid 30's originally from Scotland. I own an agency and travel a lot for work meetings and conferences.

I'm big fan of the concept of Airbnb, best way to experience a city. I love travel and also look for accommodation for personal trips and adventures.

Look forward to meeting new people all over the world.

Cheers,
Tamsin

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Tamsin’s place.
Tamsin
Ewa helps host.
Ewa

The neighbourhood

Similar listings