King (or twin) at The Pear Orchard Lodge
King (or twin) at The Pear Orchard Lodge
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2.5 shared baths
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2.5 shared baths
You won’t be charged yet

Rustic, Luxe, Boutique Accommodation in the heart of the Nelson region - The Pear Orchard Lodge is the perfect Farmstay.

This room has a super-king bed (or two single beds) and gorgeous views. The room shares bathrooms and other lodge facilities.

Fresh homemade continental breakfast with a few extras is included in the price.

The space

The Pear Orchard sits slightly elevated within an idyllic rural setting in Hope, just outside Richmond, overlooking the Waimea Plains with its orchards, wineries and incredible produce. The farmlet comprises an orchard of approximately 1,200 pear trees, paddocks housing a few cows and lambs and a large pond.

The newly built Pear Orchard Lodge has seven bedrooms, a large open plan kitchen and dining area for shared use, a large covered verandah and a number of bathrooms.

The Lodge is double-glazed and insulated to a high standard, utilises solar water heating technology and an efficient log burner, heating the building with renewable resources grown on the farm. Energy-wise appliances and light bulbs reduce the power consumption even further.

This bedroom is situated upstairs in the lodge. The warm and sunny room has idyllic views across our pond and the Waimea Plains. In the backdrop you can see Tasman Bay and the mountain ranges of the Kahurangi National Park.

Also see our listing for other rooms, including rooms with ensuite bathroom and private balcony, a small queen/family room and the separate sleep out/cabin.

Guest access

Fresh homemade continental breakfast with a few extras will be served from 8 to 9.30am (or earlier by prior arrangement). Guests are welcome to self-cater at all other times and use the spacious lodge kitchen, dining area (with a log burner) and outdoor barbeque. There is an outdoor bath, blissful after a busy day out exploring! Our hay barn, next to the lodge building doubles as a covered play area with a football table. Laundry services are available. WiFi access is free. Our guests are welcome to explore the farm. Meet our friendly chickens, ducks and geese, enjoy having fantail follow you among the pear trees, spot our local kingfisher, wood pigeons and birds of prey! There are lots of quail about, the odd pheasant and of course our resident paradise ducks on the pond.

Interaction with guests

We live in the farmhouse across the driveway, so we are always available if you need any assistance. We can issue tickets for Wilsons Abel Tasman and Sea Shuttle and can advise on lots of things to do in the area.

Other things to note

Please note that you will share The Pear Orchard Lodge with other guests. This includes the kitchen, BBQ and dining area where guests often get together the big farm table in the evening. Most of our guests love this about the lodge.

Please ask prior to your booking if you would like to stay with children.


Amenities
Kitchen
Free parking on premise
Wireless Internet
Dryer

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 10AM

We are fairly flexible - no smoking in the lodge, no pets without prior approval.

Generally check in from 2pm and check out by 10am.

As we have a few animals on the farm, we ask that you leave gates as you find them. You are welcome to participate as much or as little as you like with the animals.


Cancellations

10 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
James User Profile
January 2016
We had a great stay at the Pear Orchard Lodge, Olivia and Timo were fantastic hosts and very welcoming. A beautifully modern lodge in a great location and stunning views. We only stayed a few nights but wished we stayed longer. Thanks again! Definitely recommend a visit.
Olivia User Profile
Response from Olivia:
Thanks for your feedback! Much appreciated. Come back soon!
January 2016

Katy-Anne User Profile
May 2017
The Pear Orchard is lovely. I was there for work, and so I didn't really have too much time to lounge about, but I will have to go back to make use of the foosball table and hammocks and outdoor spaces. It was great for my purposes, but I also thought it would be a nice escape with a group of friends. The kitchen is well stocked with new appliances and tools, the common spaces are all very well organised, and my room was simple but comfortable. Overall the decor was calming and tasteful. The view from my room was also fantastic. All around, a great experience.

Mervyn And Joan User Profile
October 2016
Timo lost no time in coming over to greet us ,welcome us and explain the way their property works. Every day we had some positive interaction with him and he was kind and helpful.After the first night he upgraded us to an ensuite, which we found a better arrangement for us. Generally it was a peaceful place,although we were there in a quieter season. We stayed 8 nights and found the lodge comfortable and clean.Taking your shoes off at the door became such a habit we kept doing it when we got home.
Olivia User Profile
Response from Olivia:
Thanks for staying with us while visiting your grandchildren. We really enjoyed having you around and hope to see you again in the future.
October 2016

Jackie User Profile
February 2016
My friend and I stayed in one of the private rooms with a shared bathroom and were thoroughly happy with our experience at Pear Orchard Lodge. Timo welcomed us upon our arrival and gave us a complete tour and run down of the lodge rules. The lodge was exceptionally clean and tidy. We both loved the architectural design and decorating - rustic but modern, bright and crisp. Beautifully tucked away at the edge of wine country and had wonderful views of the valley floor below. There were options to buy fresh produce and meat from the farm for breakfast or dinner. We were sad to have only stayed one night there. Would highly recommend to anyone.
Olivia User Profile
Response from Olivia:
Thanks guys! Next time come for longer!
February 2016

Kevin &  Charley User Profile
February 2016
Love this place! We decided to stay here as we prepared to do the Abel Tasman coast track. Very warm welcome straight away on arrival.Place felt new, crisp, and welcoming. We loved views from the deck and nearby hill of Richmond and the sea. Used free bikes on hand to explore the Great Taste Trail that's minutes down road on bike. Several walking trails nearby that we explored as well on host's recommendation. Outstanding stay and would highly recommend. Host has meats and breads for sale in lodge that were very delicious. We were so pleased with accommodations we changed post-Abel Tasman booking for stay another night.
Olivia User Profile
Response from Olivia:
We love guests such as yourselves! Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip! Come back soon (if you can...). All the best!
February 2016

Jordan User Profile
January 2016
Timo and Olivia were great hosts. They organized everything for our trip to Abel Tasman NP, advised us where to go and gave a tour on their beautiful little farm! One of the best airbnb's we stayed! Pear juice is delicious!
Olivia User Profile
Response from Olivia:
Thank you so much! It is great to get such positive feedback, also about our partners who took care of you in the Abel Tasman NP.
January 2016

Sarah User Profile
January 2016
The hostel is cute & grounds are beautiful, but our stay was very unpleasant. The building is extremely noisy (sound carries everywhere) and prevented any good sleep. Also, lines for the single toilet and shower were very long (1.5 hours the second night we were there!). We did communicate to host, suggested that they make a separate bathroom with toilet at least, especially for that many people. Unfortunately, we will not be returning and would certainly not recommend.
Olivia User Profile
Response from Olivia:
We are very disappointed that you felt that way after staying with us, especially given that you were on your honeymoon. I wonder if this had been a better experience for you if you had booked an ensuite room instead of the cheaper double with shared bathroom facilities? Just to clarify, we have one shared bathroom available downstairs and one (the main bathroom with shower and bath) upstairs at all times. Most of the time we actually have two bathrooms downstairs (one of which has a shower). Why did you not use the downstairs toilet if you found that the main bathroom was busy? It would have been great if you had told us at the time that you had some issues with the bathroom, as we could have done something about it then to solve the problem. At this specific incident someone spent a very long time in the shared bathroom (which we actively discourage, but we cannot control some guests' behaviour) while the lodge was were fully booked. This can obviously be frustrating for other guests. We learned from this and now either take less bookings for rooms with shared bathroom facilities or keep all three shared bathrooms available when we are fully booked - so thanks for bringing this to our attention. We now also ask our guests not to shower after 10pm. Apart from this, The Pear Orchard Lodge is a timber framed building, which cannot have the same noise attenuation as a concrete hotel block. If this is your expectation, then maybe the Grand Mercure or The Rutherford Hotel in Nelson would be the better choice.
January 2016

This host has 83 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Nelson, New ZealandJoined in December 2011
Olivia User Profile
After living overseas for several years, my husband Timo and I returned to New Zealand, and after a few years in Auckland decided to relocate to Nelson where we now live on a small farmlet and pear orchard. We have two young children, and love travelling and spending time outdoor…
Languages: Deutsch, English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings