Skip to content
View of the shower & toilet in the bathroom from the bedroomThe shower room
Charming Garden Flat
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Our bright & fully equipped garden flat is on a quiet corner with a village feel yet in heart of vibey Melville near 2 Unis, shops, cafes, hospitals. Rea Vaya buses &Tuk tuks get you to trendy Braamfontein,Rosebank,Zoo Lake & historic Sophiatown.

The space

The lovely large garden and ample safe parking are a bonus. Our two playful & energetic dogs are fun & offer extra security, but you do need to like dogs!

Guest access

The guest has access to wifi, parking, washing machine, garden space & an outside braai (bbq) or fire 'pit'. For the washing guests need to have their own powder / softener.

Interaction with guests

We are usually around but take the lead from guests as to how much contact they prefer. I work from home so I'm available for info or help most of thd time.

Other things to note

Our 2 dogs are of medium size, playful & energetic, especially the puppy (1year old). They need to have free reign of the gardens for security, so guests who stay here will need to be dog-lovers & certainly cannot be afraid of, or irritated by dogs. Please do not feed them any tit-bits or bones. Thank you.

Amenities
Family/Kid Friendly
Wireless Internet
Kitchen
Free parking on premise
Prices
Extra people £8 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee £14
Security Deposit £84
Weekly Discount: 13%
Weekend Price £23 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
House Rules
Check-in time is 2PM - 12AM (midnight)
Check out by 11AM

1. NON-SMOKING: We are a strictly non-smoking venue. Guests may not smoke inside.

2. PARKING: There is parking in the yard for your car. Guests may need to park outside.
Any GUESTS staying overnight need to have permission to stay & they need to pay the per person per night extra fee as stated under 'additional fees'

3. PETS: We have two dogs who are great with people but not so great with sharing their space with other dogs or cats so we cannot accommodate guests' pets at this point.

4. CLEANING: We expect people to leave the place as clean as they find it and to communicate with us about any issues promptly. We try our very best to fix anything as fast as possible.

5. LAUNDRY: Guests may use the washing machine in the main house for their own clothes but need to bring their own powder & softener etc.

6. LINEN CHANGE: Towels, bedlinen & kitchen cloths are provided. Guests staying longer than 1 week get a free linen change per week.

7. RECYCLING: The city recycles in this aera so we provide 2 bins for this purpose. 1 for non-recyclables & 1 for glass, plastic,tins & paper. Tuesday mornings 7.30am is waste collection. Please put yournon-recyclables into the black wheelie bin outside in time,& the recyclables next yo it. Thank you!

You must also acknowledge
Some pet(s) live in the house
Cancellations
Safety features
Fire extinguisher
Availability
3 nights minimum stay

11 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Malcolm User Profile
October 2016
We had a wonderful time staying at the bachelor flat. Zsofia is a great host, really friendly and responsive, and introduced us to some of the cultural and culinary highlights of Johannesburg, including many that we wouldn't have heard about otherwise. The flat is is well located in Melville, a short walk from cafes, restaurants and bookshops, as well as UJ and public transport. The kitchen is also well set up if you want to cook your own meals, and the flat very comfortable in general.

Luzia User Profile
September 2016
I enjoyed my stay at Zsofias place very much. She is helpful, friendly and very responsive. I adored the dogs as well, they are funny and well behaved. The location is calm and within walking distance to shops, cafés and transportation which I appreciated a lot. I recommend Zsofias place without hesitation.

Helen User Profile
September 2016
Zsofia was a very welcoming and considerate host and the location was good for access to other parts of Johannesburg. Because it's Melville it can get a little noisy at night but it doesn't last long. I loved the friendly reception from the dogs who are very affectionate!

Sophia Antonia User Profile
September 2016
We got along really well and Zsofia really made me feel home and welcome from the first day on. Also she showed some nice spots I probably would have not found without her and I really liked Melville!

Katja User Profile
May 2016
Zsofia is a good host, who respects ones privacy while being available for any help at any moment. The flat is really comfortable, cozy and well isolated. It is also close to all facilities, shops and public transport. The view from the top of the hill is stunning. So, I enjoyed my stay!

Alice User Profile
May 2016
Zsofia was a wonderful host, welcoming and helpful. Stayed for almost two months in her bachelor flat with a well equipped kitchen and private bathroom. Her two dogs are also absolutely adorable and very well behaved, although the younger one will chew anything you leave outside! (so don't leave your stuff). Thank you for a wonderful stay Zsofia, would stay here again if I went back!

Jennie User Profile
March 2016
Zsofia was very accommodating and helpful. the space is very nice and private, good for a single person traveling alone or a couple.

Johannesburg, South AfricaJoined in April 2014
Zsofia (Sophie) User Profile

I am a relaxed multi-cultural person who loves cooking, playing scrabble, reading, socializing, travelling. I am a Hungarian/German psychologist and life coach/executive coach who also likes to paint. I love growing organic veggies & going for walks with our dogs. I have lived in Melville for a long time & enjoy its bohemian and artistic social scene. As a host I enjoy meeting people from all walks of life and letting them see Joburg through my eyes for the amazing, beautiful and energetic city it is. I speak Spanish, French, German, Hungarian & even a tiny bit of Arabic & Zulu. I look forward to hosting you!

Languages: Deutsch, Español, Français, Magyar
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings