1920's 'BRIER HOLME' Secret Garden!

Entire home/flat

8 Guests

3 bedrooms

6 Beds

Entire home/flat

8 Guests

3 bedrooms

6 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
8 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

A 'secret garden' oasis in the village! Brier Holme is the original homestead of Berridale. An Australiana federation home with a touch of old English charm! Drive to ski resorts (under hour) or just hide away & stroll down to the pub for a hearty meal!

The space

This beautiful home is full of Australian family history! This house has a happy vibe and relaxing, warm feel.

Guest access

KEYS: The house, verandahs & BBQ areas, yard all around the property. The shipping container storeroom and workshop are not accessible.

Interaction with guests

'Barry' (Caretaker) resides onsite in the cabin at the rear of the property and can help you with any requests or functional issues with the house.

'Laurel' (other host) resides just over the other side of the village & is able to assist with any interior/domestic requests i.e. linen. Please phone her mobile on

Other things to note

There is a information compendium board in the office/sunroom which is kept updated and will give you all the information on local festivals, current events and popular tourist attractions in the area. Local services available in the village of Berridale is also provided i.e. ski hire, food, facilities and services etc.

The space
Bathrooms: 2.5
Bedrooms: 3
Beds: 6
Check In: 3PM - 11PM
Check Out: 10AM
Room type: Entire home/flat


Extra people: £21 / night after 4 guests
Security Deposit: £297
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 3PM - 11PM

BE RESPECTFUL: Treat others with care and respect, clean up after yourself, and read the notices/info at the house! Your stay in our home is not the same as a hotel service or the usual short term accommodation. We have a small host team that can help with any of your needs throughout your stay - your host may pop by to see how you are going! If you need to contact anyone - please text or phone Mel ((PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN)) or Laurel ((PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN))

COMMUNICATE: Your arrival and departure times especially if it has changed. If you need to arrive early, you need to check with the agent first by text to see if it is OK - mainly due to back/back bookings etc. We want to make sure everything is right for you! Please let us know if there is anything in the house which is needed or missing. Also, we really appreciate if you would report anything broken, damaged or suspicious of anything. Communicating by text is best!! Otherwise phone or email with a message and we will call back. Communicate to us promptly if the accommodations do not meet your needs or expectations. Give us a chance to fix it - because we will try to do our very best!

CORRECT NUMBER OF GUESTS: Please note that we are happy to allow babies to stay free of charge that are up to 18 months old if they are sharing a bed with their parents. Arriving with more guests than you booked, including toddlers and young children, violates AIRBNB rules and our policy. Also, if you arrive with more guests than you booked for, the reservation must be changed (only if permitted by the owner of property) to reflect the proper number of guests up to a legal limit of 8 before you will be allowed to enter the premises. Prior to your booking, each adult MAY be required to take a photo of their licence & text to (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN) for security purposes. As we are a hosting/accommodation service, we reserve the right to conduct guest checks at any time and also have the right to refuse guests which are not booked in although this can usually be negotiated. PLEASE BOOK FOR THE CORRECT NUMBER OF GUESTS. This is essential for preparation, safety, insurance and care of the property. Please not that there is no price difference between children or adults, only infants under 18mths (if sharing bed w/parent) are free of charge.

CHILDREN: Children are welcome, but children aged 18 months upwards count as 'people' and must be included in the guest count. You must enter toddlers & young children into the guest numbers when making the booking. If you wish to bring a baby of less than 18 months old, you may only book up to 8 guests (as an example) to allow for the legal number of people allowed for insurance reasons. We can provide a portable cot but parents must set up & make up the cot themselves and this also applies for any other equipment available at the property. Babies MUST be supervised at all times especially around the veranda areas. We cannot permit any baby walkers or swings to be brought to property. Please do not let your children play with ornaments and supervise them to clean up toys properly by putting correct sets away in their proper place. It is not a good idea to allow all the toys out at once - it is better to limit access to a few things at a time. Please only use one board game at a time and do not mix up pieces. Please encourage your children to respect the property of other people's belongings!

OUTDOOR PLAY EQUIPMENT: Children up to the age of 10 YEARS OLD or maximum 35kg are able to climb on the outdoor play equipment! The use of bicycles, scooters and any leisure equipment you are permitted to use is entirely at your own risk. If you choose to allow your children to use it, it is also entirely at your own risk. Please SUPERVISE your children and remove potential hazards which may cause accidents. There are no warranties or guarantees about the safety of any of the equipment around the property - swings, bicycles, or anything else.

The fire will be already alight upon arrival but it is advisable to keep it topped up always and keep the oxygen lever down low (to the left) so that you don't have to go through so much wood so often. When you go skiing it is a good idea to really top up the fire to burn on low throughout the day - if the oxygen setting is too high, it will not stay alight & burn out. You need to keep a good hot bed of coals to keep the place warm. You will be given an included allowance of firewood stacked inside the house. Please text to let us know if you are running low with your interior supply of wood. Any extra loads of wood may incur a charge due to the high price charged in the local area. Try to manage your fire as economically as you can.

Also upon arrival there is a gas booster heater in the sun room and panel heaters in rear bedrooms and in the lounge. It is best to keep the two main bedroom doors open to allow the central heat to keep them warm. Advisable to keep the bathroom doors closed always to stop the loss of heat. This advice is crucial to keeping a warm toasty house due to the fact that is an old home and not built in the most energy efficient way!!

If you would like to use the firepit and need extra wood, this may be at an extra charge depending on how large you would like the load to be. In this area: - 1 CUBIC METRE = $170 - 180!!! Usually, if guests want to burn wood for the firepit or pizza oven, we put a HALF CUBIC METRE out at an extra cost of $80 (cash given to Caretaker or as arranged).
Please note: NEVER move/re-locate the fire pit or the pizza oven due to safety reasons (especially with flying hot ash).


Excessive energy usage is monitored and an extra charge may apply in this case. Excessive energy charge is applied at $25 per day extra.
Please remember to treat our home as if it were your very own - most people never leave room heaters on when not around.


LINEN: PLEASE BRING YOUR OWN TOWELS + OWN PILLOW CASES (unless otherwise informed). The Queen & King bed will be made up with fresh linen already. There is an option to hire towels if you have forgotten @$10pp which must be paid for in cash by calling Laurel on (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN) or texting Mel.

BEDROOMS: Remove make-up before crawling into bed. Make-up stains bedding. Please don't eat or drink anything while sitting on the bedding. We want to provide nice-quality bedding yet still keep our price low. This is a family-owned business. However! Accidents happen! If you spill something on the sheets, blankets or carpet, please follow the instructions in the cleaning book provided alert 'Laurel' immediately if it is serious so that she can assist you . Many Thanks!

KITCHEN: If you are here for more than 2 days, and/or if you put raw meat or vegetables in the kitchen bin then please tie up properly in a shopping bag and put in the outdoor bin with red lid. This will keep your kitchen area clean and pleasant. Please drink RED WINE at the dining table and EAT ALL FOOD at the dining table or outside. If eating outside, please clean up immediately and do not leave it out overnight. Please never bring/use food dye or any substance known to cause permanent staining with benchtops etc.

MUSIC/NOISE: Surprisingly the house is extremely noise proof so there is never a problem with loud music being played inside. We have never really experienced any problems with noise outside as long as it occurs closer to road sides of the property (not the neighbourhood sides). Please be considerate to the neighbours and please check by texting Mel if you wish to play loud outdoor music during the night.

SMOKING: Absolutely NO SMOKING in the house or any of the verandah areas. Smoking is permitted, however, at the outdoor BBQ area only below the pine trees - please use black ash tray pots as provided and seating is available there. At the end of your stay please empty your ashtrays into a plastic shopping bag, tie it up & put into the outdoor bin with red lid. NEVER light anything along the back door & side verandahs where the gas heater and gas hot water tank are located!!

PARKING: Please park a maximum of 4 cars only - 2 under the carport and 2 are permitted next to the cubby near the veranda. There is plenty of off-street parking on both road sides of the property. The property is also extremely handy for motorcyclists to park their bikes under cover & secured within the grounds - up to 10 bikes are permitted!

FIRE PIT: Please only ever light a fire in the fire pit provided where positioned - please DO NOT MOVE IT!

WHEN YOU LEAVE: Strip the beds of sheets when you leave and leave next to the bed on the end of the bed, then fold the blankets and place on the beds. This benefits you! Often personal items are found in the bedding, and often find clothing mixed in. Please remember that when you leave the place tidy and in a similar state to how it was presented, then you will not be charged any extra for cleaning! It has been stated that if the cleaning is excessive, application for an extended cleaning fee could be required in this case.

EVENTS: Although we have marked 'no' for events/parties, we will consider the possibilities of particular types of events - very specifically:- wedding/other ceremonies, small wedding receptions, funeral wakes, celebrations/gatherings for aged care hostels, small family reunions, society/club/community meetings, some charity events, morning/afternoon tea elderly bus groups. If you wish to hold any event which fits the above description, then you will need to contact Mel to put arrangements in place i.e. time frame, number of guests, parking, catering, excess energy estimation etc.

Thanks for reading all our rules!
We love our guests and strive for people to return to us!



Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

The minimum night stay for this listing varies.
Add your travel dates to see more details.

15 Reviews

Check In
Ariel User Profile
January 2017
Fantastic sized home with plenty of space for two families. Very comfortable and well equiped with interesting and eclectic decor. Beautiful gardens and plenty of spaces to sit and enjoy different aspects of the property. Mel is a great host, very easy to contact and very responsive with communication. We would definitely stay at Mel's place again.

Melissa User Profile
January 2017
Wow this house exceeded all our expectations. Our family booked a last minute stay at Brier Holme, Mel was really accommodating and lovely to talk to. The house is well set up for family groups, we had two young kids with us, who were entertained the whole time and loved the garden (as did the adults!). Hoping we can get back in the winter and wouldn't hesitate to book again - thanks Mel
Mel User ProfileMel is a superhost.
Response from Mel:
Thanks heaps Mel! Yes we would love to see you all back here again of course! Mel
January 2017

Mark User Profile
January 2017
We spent the new year here, it was a lovely, large and spacious house with excellent out door area. Very comfortable and relaxing house. Mel went out of her way to assist us, with fresh cherries in the fridge, information board with leaflets and details on everything around
Mel User ProfileMel is a superhost.
Response from Mel:
Thanks Mark! Glad you had a great experience. We always try to put whatever fruit is in season from mum's orchard. Cherries are all gone now! Hope to see you again!
January 2017

Deepak User Profile
September 2016
It was awesome exp. The house was really good. All worth it.

Kate User Profile
August 2016
The host of this property was not only such a beautiful person and host but also so very accommodating. Beautiful house, fantastic stay and amazing host!
Mel User ProfileMel is a superhost.
Response from Mel:
Kate thanks so much! I hope your stay was everything you imagined & more. Look forward to your return!! Mel
August 2016

Philip User Profile
August 2016
Excellent place to stay. Great for kids, with plenty for them to do. Fully equipped with great service. Thanks
Mel User ProfileMel is a superhost.
Response from Mel:
Thanks Philip! Glad the kids loved it - we should have a jukebox soon! Hope to see you all again next year maybe! Mel
August 2016

Ke User Profile
August 2016
Had a great stay with 10 friends, lovely and nice place! Enjoyed our ski strip too!
Mel User ProfileMel is a superhost.
Response from Mel:
Thanks mate! Hope to see you back again! Mel
August 2016

This host has 20 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Goulburn, Australia · Joined in November 2015
Mel User ProfileMel is a superhost.

Hi! I'm Melissa! (Agent/Brier Holme). I visited the snowfields each year since the early 1970's & usually stayed in Jindabyne, although these days Jindy is a much busier & more expensive place to stay. I currently live in Goulburn with my family and visit down south. We love sitting around a fire at night, putting the phone away & having a chat & maybe even get the drums out! My family is my priority! I love introducing people to Berridale and all the things that the area has to offer as it is such a quirky village and has become the perfect little escape in the Snowies!!

Response rate: 100%
(past 90 days)
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.