Café in Simon-Dach-Straße,  less than 5 minutes walk from the flatI just moved here, so the apartment is still work in progress. Well, so is Berlin :-)
Small room for 4 in artsy Friedrichshain
Small room for 4 in artsy Friedrichshain
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1.5 baths
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1.5 baths
You won’t be charged yet

Stay in the heart of Berlin! Our veggie flat is on the top floors (no lift, sorry!), looking into a quiet green backyard. The top floor offers a big living room/kitchen and terrace. Stairs lead to the lower floor with the bed rooms (including your room) and the spacious bathroom.

The space

We moved to Berlin recently. The apartment is cozy and colorful, but still a bit work in progress, so hopefully you don't mind a bit of chaos. Think boxes full of books in the corner :-)

Your bedroom is very small. It's OK for 4 persons, but only if you want to use it just to sleep. Which is exactly what most of our visitors want: The city offers so much to discover, and the flat is cozy and charming, with a nice view into the green backyard (squirrels often come by for a visit).
The room sleeps 4: two in a shared bed, and two on a double mattress in a cave-like elevated surface just below the ceiling, which you reach by climbing a ladder.

Guest access

You have your own small bedroom.
We will share the rest of the flat:
- living room with attached kitchen with all the stuff that define a kitchen (welcome to cook, but PLEASE note that I ask guests not to bring any meat into the apartment)
- roof terrace (summer only)
- two bathrooms

Interaction with guests

If I'm in town, we'll also stay in the apartment. Always happy to have a coffee or tea with guests and have a chat.
However, we both also travel quite often (Sara mostly in India, Jens mostly in Europe).

Other things to note

The apartment is in the top floors of a 5-storey high building. There is no elevator, so you'll have to climb quite a few stairs.


Amenities
Wireless Internet
Kitchen

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee £17
Weekly Discount: 13%
Weekend Price £73 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn More

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
2 double beds

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 6PM
Check out by 2PM

Please be nice and considerate towards our neighbors.
Our apartment is vegetarian, so we ask all guests not to bring any meat or meat products. (There is a vegan supermarket around the corner - a great place to stock up on some tofu sausages! :-) )
We ask all guests to take off their shoes.
Smoking is permitted on the terrace (summer only).

Let's do our share to save the planet (and money): Please help saving energy and water. So please don't turn the heating on and open the windows at the same time, and turn the lights off when leaving a room.


Cancellations

Safety features
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

21 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Lily User Profile
May 2016
We had a brilliant stay in Jens' lovely flat! He made us feel very welcome, and was very helpful and friendly. He printed off maps of the local area for us a long with useful information which helped a lot! His place is in a perfect location, especially if you get bikes its not long to get to places you want to go! The flat is great, always clean, nice size and great facilities such as Wifi, a Terrace and comfy beds always with clean towels etc. It is often shared with others staying in the room next door, and with Jens himself but this was not a problem for us at all! Also it is on the top floor up 5 flights of stairs with no lift, which again was no problem for us but bare this in mind if you plan to bring older members of your group, or those who may be disabled. Overall we had a perfect stay in Berlin and we can't thank Jens enough for his hospitality and we definitely aim to come back soon! Lily, Olivia, Lawrence, Stevie and Tom :)

Katie User Profile
September 2017
WOW! What a wonderful group of people! Right away when we got to the apartment, they welcomed us in with warm conversations and wine! Jens made us maps with general info about the different districts and important transportation stops and interesting things to do and see. Sara cooked us a delicious fresh Italian pizza our last night, and even set out homemade muffins, croissants and smoothies for us for breakfast. Their friend was also so incredibly nice and helpful, and we felt right at home in his presence! Everyone was so genuine and helpful, and the place was unique and in a great and safe location. I would highly recommend to anyone traveling to Berlin! We had 4 of us--there was room, but it's a bit tight, so make sure you're comfortable being very close to one another :-)
Jens User Profile
Response from Jens:
Thank you for your kind words! It was a great pleasure to have you here :-)
September 2017

Mikel User Profile
July 2017
very nice place

Charlotte User Profile
July 2017
Very open, free house. Feels very comfortable and and home. :)

Christopher User Profile
March 2017
Great place. Very clean, decent location, accessible, and Jens is very nice and knowledgeable. Just be aware that the main sights such as the berlin wall memorial and the reichstag take about 20 minutes to get to from his location by metro.
Jens User Profile
Response from Jens:
Thank you, Christopher, it was a pleasure to host you guys! Regarding the location: True, many historical sights are in Mitte, which is a few subway stops away. However, our district (Friedrichshain) has its share of sights (famous East Side Gallery, for example), and it is a lot more lively and colorful than Mitte. Berlin is so spread out that no location is perfect ...
March 2017

Matteo User Profile
March 2017
Great location to have a full immersion in Berlin soul and great host.
Jens User Profile
Response from Jens:
Grazie! It was a pleasure hosting you :-)
March 2017

Yoni User Profile
September 2016
Nice host, room was too small for 4 people, we did not have room to move in the room. There is no room for luggage and no cupboard to store clothes so I would not recommend coming for more than one/two nights. Overall a bit of an uncomfortable stay.

Berlin, GermanyJoined in June 2013
Jens User Profile

I love traveling and politics - and found a job to combine the two. So now I work in the diplomatic service, moving to a new place every few years. I lived in Brazil, Nigeria and Bosnia for a while, and moved back to Berlin in summer 2015.

Languages: Deutsch, English, Italiano, Português
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Jens’s place.
Jens
Sara helps host.
Sara

The neighbourhood

Similar listings