The front driveway. Parking is £5 per day, or free parking between 10pm-8am in the Close.Twin beds with quality linen and towels
United KingdomWinchester
5 mins walk to station (Single / Twin room)

Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds
United KingdomWinchester
5 mins walk to station (Single / Twin room)


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds

1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
36 travellers saved this place

About this listing

A working Artist's colourful townhouse, warm, welcoming and quiet with "very comfortable beds". A great location close to the railway station, city centre, shops, cafes, pubs, restaurants. The railway station is about 5 mins walk and the city centre is about 20 mins walk. If guests would like breakfast I can offer a delicious breakfast as an optional extra. Parking available. I look forward to meeting you and welcoming you to my arty colourful comfortable house!


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: 4PM - 10PM
Check Out: 10AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: £15 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: £10
Weekly Discount: 5%
Cancellation: Strict
Weekend Price: £40 / night

Description

The space

This light quiet bedroom on the top floor is a good size single room or a cosy twin. Guests say the beds are "very comfortable". The room is set out as a twin room but is usually used as a single room.

Guests comment on how quiet the room is, considering how close the city is. The room overlooks the garden and a scout field at the back of the house. There are hooks and coat hangers, plus an extra mobile clothes rail is available if required. This room booked with the twin room on the level below, would offer four beds for a group or family.

There are two flights of stairs up to this floor level. The room has bottled drinking water to welcome guests on arrival, tea & coffee tray, fresh towels, quality bed linen, Wifi code.

There is a lovely shared bathroom with travertine wall tiles located across the landing on the same floor. The bathroom has a good hot shower with a rose shower head, a bath and toilet. There is an additional toilet on the middle floor lounge level.

There is another bedroom on the first level below this room, which offers a total of 4 single beds for a group.

Guest access

Guests have access to their bedroom, a shared bathroom, additional toilet, garden, kitchen during breakfast.

Interaction with guests

We are available to help guests with information and local recommendations, and will enjoy sharing local knowledge and getting to know our guests. French and Spanish spoken. There is a great pub across the road called The Roebuck Inn, which serves food all day. There is an Italian restaurant within 5 mins walk called Pi Woodfired which serves great woodfired pizza. There is a cafe called Leaf and Bean on Stockbridge road about 3 mins walk, which serves breakfast, except on Sunday's. Artists especially welcome.

The neighbourhood

The popular area of Fulflood has plenty of local amenities, including the Roebuck Inn across the road, which serves food all day, and local shops, cafes and pubs. There is a fantastic range of restaurants in Winchester. There is a local Waitrose, Aldi and Co-operative shops. There is a music pub nearby "The Railway Inn" which has live bands playing regularly.

Getting around

Fantastic location near the city centre and railway station. There is a bus station in the city centre, and the number 3 bus goes up and down Stockbridge Road, near my house, from the city centre towards Weeke. The bus stop to ask for is Western Road. I use Wintax for local taxis. Southampton airport is only 10 minutes away by train.

If you arrive by national express coach, the coach will drop you in town near the Guildhall and the King Alfred statue. You can catch the number 3 bus from the bus station opposite the Guildhall, up to Western Road, which is 10 mins by bus. Then cross over the road, walk up and Langton Close is opposite the Roebuck pub.

Other things to note

If you would like breakfast please ask before arrival. A home cooked or self service breakfast at £5 per person may be available depending on the dates of your visit - please ask. The Leaf and Bean Cafe nearby on Stockbridge road serves breakfast, just a few mins walk, except for Sundays. There are also great breakfast places in town - I recommend The Corner House on North Walls.

PARKING: Parking is at a premium in Winchester and I can offer driveway parking or permit parking for £5 per 24 hours, per car, payable on departure. You can park free after 10pm in the parking bays opposite the house. Please do let me know in advance if you require daytime parking so i can arrange a space.

The house has three levels with two flights of stairs.

Local taxi recommendation is Wintax

There are cash tills at the railway station, the Co-op shop at the large crossroads near the station. You can get cashback at the local Waitrose in Weeke. There is also cash till inside Aldi, next to Waitrose.
There is a laundry nearby on Stockbridge Road opposite Pi restaurant.


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in time is 4PM - 10PM.

Please be respectful of a quiet home, no loud music, no pets, no smoking indoors, but ok to smoke in the back garden. Please respect the check in and check out times to allow for cleaning and room preparation. Check in is from 4pm and check out is 10am, unless agreed otherwise. Please let me know if you wish to reserve a car space, and if you would like breakfast.
The only reason why I say the house is not child friendly for young children is because there are 2 flights of stairs without stair gates, so this is at your own risk.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay.
From Jun 1 - Aug 31, 2017 the minimum stay is 3 nights.

40 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value

This host has 20 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Winchester, United Kingdom · Joined in November 2015
Victoria User Profile

Hello, I am Irish, very creative and artistic, and I love travelling. I like to draw and paint, cook, read, go to the cinema, interior decor, spend time with family and friends. I love Thai food, eating out and fine dining! My life motto is "Live life as if its your only one!" and "Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful" (William Morris). In Dec 15 I gave up my office career of 30 years to become a working travelling artist and have a website maisonartsoleil. Come and visit me!

Response rate: 100%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
You won’t be charged yet