From the lapa you walk through the front door into an open-plan lounge/dining room area with a round dining room table that can seat 6 people.
La Dolce Vita 1 (8 sleeper)
8 guests
3 bedrooms
6 beds
2 baths
8 guests
3 bedrooms
6 beds
2 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
8 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

La Dolce Vita 1is a spacious self-catering cottage in the heart of St Lucia on the north coast of KwaZulu-Natal in South Africa. St Lucia Estuary, in the iSimangaliso Wetland Park – South Africa’s first World Heritage Site,
Sleep 2-8 people
Perfect for families or a group of friends traveling together
We love hosting friends and family in our cottage and are looking forward to hosting you!

The space

Family friendly 3 bedroom Self Catering Cottage decorated in Beach House Style, sleeps 2 - 8 guests.
Rate is for the entire Cottage not per person.
Situated in the World Heritage site.
What people say…
There’s no place like home" but LA DOLCE VITA 1 come pretty close…

With no accommodation on the beach front (as there is about a 2km greenbelt that separates the town from the beach) La Dolce Vita No. 1 is situated in Beach Road, on the way to the beach, in the quiet residential area of St. Lucia, walking distance of all the supermarkets, (surf)shops, restaurants, banks, ATM, the beach and the estuary mouth

Many visitors use the short 2 km walk to the beach as a means of exercise and one is surely to came across Vervet monkeys, red duiker, bushbuck or mongoose on your way down to the beach
Walking distance to all the village shops and restaurants but please do take care at night for those wandering hippos.

Accommodates: 2-8 people (kids included)
Bathrooms: 2
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 3
Beds: 1 Queen, 1 Double, 2 Single, 1 Double bunker bed
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 9:00 AM
Pet Owner: Some pets, need to confirm with me first
Property type: Self Catering Cottage
Room type: Entire Cottage

A bright, light, fresh and relaxed ambience awaits you at No. 1 La Dolce Vita.
Decorated in Beach House Style, tastefully furnished with the holidaymaker in mind.

What's included? Basically just bring yourselves, and food and drink. The Bed/s are made (according to number staying) with linen, towels & teatowels provided, fresh dishcloth every time (and washing up liquid, and liquid soap, and first toilet roll).
Walk into the private lapa area with a build-in barbeque (braai), large table with seating for 8 people.
Lockup Safe in main bedroom
Full Satellite TV, DVD Player, Radio/CD player.
Airconditioned and all the rooms have ceiling fans.
The unit is serviced daily except Sundays and pubic holidays.
Your own private outside garden-shower.
Within a secure complex with remote controlled access.
The house is fitted with a burglar alarm linked to an armed response company.
Double lock-up garage.
Shared Swimming pool in the complex.
Smoking is only allowed outside on the patio's.

This is our holiday home...We use a local housekeeper and property manager in the village, but you may reach me per phone, SMS and mail.
•I hope that during your stay AT la dolce vita 1 you will feel like at home, if there is something that might make your stay with us even more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask for our assistance and we will see what we can do...

In St. Lucia you can find everything you need within walking distance. There are two well stocked supermarkets, a dozen restaurants, butchery, bakery, Laundromat, liquor stores, fuel station, Post Office, Internet Cafes, banks, ATM's, several fishing tackle shops, a hairdresser, variety of curio shops and not to be missed the locally produced fruit & craft market!
Our favourites…
Do the Boat Cruise on the St Lucia Estuary!!
A trip to Cape Vidal
A self drive or /game drive to Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve is about one hour from St Lucia and worth the trek for Big Five sightings.

Ocean Basket and Braza: Next door to each other, you can eat from either menu”
John Dory's: (Wednesdays), Sushi half price
Reef and Dune: use to be St Pizza… They still have the same menu, and their pizza and pasta are definitely the best in town!
St Lucia Ski Boat Club: a good place to have a sundowner or something to eat - the most stunning venue for views on the Estuary with the Hippos and crocodiles lying on the sand beds.
Coffee Shop:
Thyme Square Coffee & Gift Shop

ST LUCIA’S water supply is very low at the moment and we have been put under tight water restrictions. I ask guest to do their best to help us conserve water by taking short showers, turning off water when brushing teeth and shaving.

Guest access

This tastefully decorated, three-bedroom cottage, fully equipped for self-catering- sleep two to eight guests.
Your own private garden and an enclosed entertainment area with built-in barbecue facility make it perfect for entertaining.
Our Cottage is situated in a secure complex( about 15 units) with remote control access and guests also have access to a shared swimming pool in the complex.

Interaction with guests

We, the owners, don't live in St Lucia, we're living on an AVOCADO AND SUGARCANE FARM (please see our other listing "Avocado and Sugarcane Farmstay" ) about 2 hours drive away - so not always direct interaction with the guests, however our property manager stands by for any emergency or assistance required.
En route to St Lucia or The Drakensberg? what about a Farmstay en route?
Please feel free to ask us for any recommendations and if you plan to visit the
Communication with me (owner) through mobile or email is available at any time!

Other things to note

Please see our other listing on AIRBNB
En route to St Lucia or The Drakensberg? what about a Farmstay en route?
or book our beach cottage in Vermont (Hermanus) in the Western Cape
SEAFRONT Tastefully decorated Holiday Cottage - sleeping 2- 8 people, with a separate flat sleeping 3 people on request exrta.
See my other listings...

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
2 single beds
Bedroom 3
1 double bed, 1 bunk bed


Weekend Price £108 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 9AM

No smoking inside the house - only allowed outside in the garden and on the patio's please.
Please enjoy your time, but be respectful of the neighbors - no loud noise after 10pm at night
Pet Owner: Some pets, need to confirm with me first
When you make a reservation for a certain number of people, if you later want to invite more friends, please make sure it is OK with me first.
Bed/s are made (according to number staying) with linen & towels


Safety features
Fire extinguisher

2 nights minimum stay

23 Reviews

Check In
Beatriz User Profile
September 2017
Riana's place was just ideal for a long weekend with friends. The bbq area is cosy and we enjoyed every bit of our stay. The proximity to all tour operators makes it a great place to start discovering the St Lucia area. We do recommend it!

Adam User Profile
April 2017
The house is lovely, well equipped, has the use of a pool, a lovely garden, and is just a few minutes walk from the main road of St Lucia where the amenities, bars, restaurants, shops etc are situated. St Lucia is a wonderful place and Riana's home is a wonderful place within it. Thoroughly recommended.

Minh-Tien User Profile
March 2017
Clean, spotless and well furnished to accommodate and host a large family or group. St.Lucia is not particularly a big city, and everything is within 5 min drive or 30 walk. Very convenient for those looking for secluded and safe/gated compound place to stay. Rianna's tips for local activities and restaurants are well appreciated. As other reviews mentioned, AC is only provided in the common space and the master bedroom, while it would have been appreciated in the other bedrooms, especially for those humid and hot days. Fan on the ceiling worked fine in the end though. Extra supply of dish and shower/bath soap would have been appreciated too. Minh-Tien (Canada), March 2017

Marcelo & Irene User Profile
February 2017
Those days in St Lucia were wonderful! The location was great, a beautiful house, very spacious and comfortable. Big rooms and well equipped. I think the complicated part was the keys, a lot of keys and controls. And the way that how can I get the keys for first time. We had a few moments with internet and without cell signal before St Lucia, so we didn´t know anything about where get the keys. But Nunu was very kind and patiense with us to explain everything. Unfortunatly we had early flight reservation in Durban, so we had to leave the house very early and we couldn't contact Nunu before. So our apologies Riana by the way we have had to leave the house!
Riana User Profile
Response from Riana:
Hello Marcello it was a pleasure to host you - Nunu said you were lovely people . Nothing to worry about - all was 100% About - "a lot of keys and controls" I agree but to get in they are all necesary Gate, garage door, braai area ... Hope to host you again one day! xxx
February 2017

Anna User Profile
January 2017
The hose is lovely, very comfortable, well equipped and very well located: close to the shops, restaurants and the beach. It's in the quite complex that feels safe. Communication with both Riana and Joyce was very smooth. Bongi was very nice and helpful. St Lucia is a great holiday spot. The beach is great and there are many things to do in the area. Would love to come back.
Riana User Profile
Response from Riana:
Hello Anna - thank you for the nice review! It was our pleasure hosting you. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future! Warm whale, dolphin, croc, hippo and turtle wishes, Henk & Riana @ La Dolce Vita 1
January 2017

Kentin User Profile
December 2016
The house is everything you need during a holiday stay. Plenty of space, good sized rooms. Lots of freezer and refrigerator space was great. Conveniently located, everything in walking distance. The host was excellent, fetching the keys was easy, and painless and the staff (Bongi) was brilliant and made sure everything was clean. Our only gripe was the air con in the bedroom was not working and it was extremely hot. Overall an excellent stay and we would love to return.
Riana User Profile
Response from Riana:
Dear Kentin, Thank you for a very nice review! So sorry for the inconvenience due to the aircon in the main bedroom that was not working, we had all the aircons serviced end of November and was unaware that there was a problem until you mentioned it – I did contact Day Night Electrical that same day and had no response from them – think they are closed for the Christmas period, will follow up again - we are out of the Country at the moment visiting our children in the UK
December 2016

Liz User Profile
December 2016
Apart from a cheese grater, the kitchen couldn't have been better equipped, it was marvelous. If you don't mind exploring everywhere by car, not having a view, or being close to a safe beach, this place is very pleasant. The compound is (stiflingly?) safe with a baffling array of keys for every door inside and out.There is an alarm system which we only discovered when someone set it while we were out and we had fun guessing the code to switch it off on re-entry. St Lucia seems to be a wall-to-wall brick holiday home and guesthouse enclave, not the 'paradise' we'd been led to believe it was, with an officious private security firm seemingly running the entire island.The tourist information centre on the bridge has never opened, so we were glad the owner supplied us with details of what was on and where to go to in the area. We tried three times to get to the butterfly dome, but that and the nursery business next door seems to have gone to rack and ruin. A shame as it looked like being the only Black business for miles, apart from the "Zulu fruit stall" - which is, a fruit stall. The bottle of wine we found on arrival was very welcome. The lighting in the dining room area is a little stark, and we didn't find a bath plug that fitted for several days, but all things considered those are minor gripes. We ignored the holiday/activity brochures we found in the house that were more than five years old(and there were loads). We're glad the water situation is easing, and wondered what the heavy sand shifting machinery was doing at the beach by the estuary mouth. Thankyou Rianna for your hospitality
Riana User Profile
Response from Riana:
Hello Liz and family Thank you so much for your feedback and kind words regarding your recent stay at La Dolce Vita 1 - so glad you had a enjoyed & had a pleasant stay We hope to welcome you back again one day! Will look into the things you mentioned ASAP. Happy New Year to you all xxx
December 2016

This host has 12 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
South AfricaJoined in December 2015
Riana User Profile
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings