A view of the Singel Canal from three windowsView of the Singel Canal. Wifi and internet-access through cable


Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Private room in a canalhouse dating from 1608 situated on Singel Canal in the oldest part of Amsterdam. Double bed. Centrally located, 5 minutes walk from Central Trainstation. Lots of restaurants and shops at short walking distance.

The space

This private room available for the exclusive use of Airbnb-guests is just like an apartment without a kitchen; the room is situated on the first floor at the front of the house. This Airbnb-space includes a large bedroom with exposed oak beams and an authentic brick wall. Adjacent to the bedroom is your private bathroom (with shower, sink, mirror and toilet) for Airbnb-guests only. In the bedroom itself there is a double bed consisting out of 2 latex mattrasses each measuring 90 x 200 cm. Please note that the bed consists out of TWO single mattrasses measuring 90 x 200 cm and not out of one double mattrass measuring 180 x 200 cm.

There is also a sitting-area with a couch, 2 chairs, cable-television, a DVD-player, internet using Wifi as well as internet by the use of a cable. There are lots of books, mostly in the English language on various topics and a computer-desk in the studycorner with a chair; a 'laptopfriendly workspace' in case you need to get some work done.

On the airbnb-website this space can not be called an apartment because the space does not include a kitchen. However there is a coffee-machine and a waterkettle to make hot beverages. There is a small refrigerator for your convenience as well as cups, glasses, plates and cutlery.

Sheets and towels are 60° Celsius cleaned.

The surface-area of the space is ± 50 m2.

Trains, buses and metro are 5 min. walking distance.

My two cats 'Lukas' and 'Schnauz' do not enter the Airbnb-space on the first floor. This private room is cat-free.

Guest access

This private room is situated on the first floor at the front of the house and can be reached by entering the house through the main door, going up the stairs to the first floor. There is no elevator. The stairs are steep. See the photograph of the stairs in the picture-portfolio. Older/elderly people need to be aware if this.

Interaction with guests

During your stay I will be around for assistance if needed. If desired I will be very happy to give you advice on where to go and what to see to make your visit a memorable one.

Other things to note

When you are here I will always explain to you the use of the emergency-exit; on the round bedside-table there is a key to the window next to the bed. This is your most efficient emergency-exit. Put the key in the lock on the window, the lock will open, open the window and you climb/jump on the roof below. It is very easy.

I live in the same building. My quarters are situated on the groundfloor and one room on the first floor on the rearside of the house.
During the day I occasionally will have a violinstudent come for a lesson, so you may hear some violinplaying in the background.

It is important for guests to realise that this private room is situated in a house in the very center of Amsterdam in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the old city, a house more than 400 years old. This means that the levels of soundisolation required for modern buildings can not be met without eliminating the charm and character of a 17th Century house. In other words: the sound-isolation in this house is not ideal.
On the floor above the Airbnb-flat the upstairs neighbours live. They are two professionals sharing an apartment. They try to be quiet because they are aware of the fact there is an Airbnb-room below them.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 10AM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: 32
Weekly Discount: 15%
Weekend Price: 133 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM

For this Airbnb-room the following rules apply:

*Please treat this Airbnb-space with respect, as if it would be your own house.

*In this house there is a 100 % NO-SMOKING-Policy. For obvious reasons smoking is not allowed in this house.

*Drugs or drug-parafernalia are strictly forbidden. You are also not allowed to be under the influence of drugs while you are present in this Airbnb-space. This includes alcohol-abuse.

*This house is a quiet house. This means that everybody is respectful towards one another. You can play music softly or watch television but please keep the volume down considerably. The sound-isolation in 17th. century Dutch canalhouses unfortunately is rather poor. This house is not a hotel with soundproof rooms. It is a private house.

*No parties or events to be held in this Airbnb-space.

*Please be quiet after 10:00 o'clock pm.

*Please keep your shoes off while in the room.

*Please be so kind not to keep the cats in the room. Please do not feed the cats.

*When entering/leaving the house, please be so kind to remember to always lock both locks on the frontdoor of the house.

Check-out-time is 10:00 o'clock am in the morning.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

164 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Erin User Profile
July 2017
We spent five nights and had a wonderful stay. The room was clean, comfortable, and walkable to most museums and attractions. Tea and coffee were provided, which was greatly appreciated! Great communication with owner and his assistant. Fast wi-fi. Loved the friendly cat. Would definitely recommend and stay here again if in Amsterdam again.

Diana User Profile
July 2017
great location, great host, great room and very comfortable stay! Host was very helpful with suggestions for excellant restaurants, museums and other points of interest.

David User Profile
July 2017
Great host. Perfect location. Very roomy place. Evert has a genuine care for his guests & always made sure everything was well with us. Clara met us upon arrival & made us feel welcome in this home away from home. You cannot beat this historic place for location. We felt like locals by the end of the first day. The size of the place made you feel like you lived there. It was convenient to so many places & restaurants. We definitely will stay here again!

Joan User Profile
June 2017
Evert's place is absolutely perfect! It is central to everything, very hip and modern yet also comfortable!

Frank User Profile
June 2017
Highly recommended place to stay. Central to many aspects of Amsterdam that we wanted (museums and restaurants) but with a good degree of intimacy and privacy. Our hosts were welcoming, the cats charming and the rooms light and vibrant.

Wolfgang User Profile
June 2017
This is the perfect place to stay in the heart of Amsterdam. Close to all the attractions. Evert is a kind host and helpful in every way.

Rabia User Profile
June 2017
The apartment was charming and in a fantastic location - walking distance to everything. Evert was a very helpful host with lots of suggestions for making my short visit a success. He has done a great job of exposing the original architecture in the room and is continuing with the rest of the building. Great visit!

Amsterdam, NetherlandsJoined in June 2013
Evert User ProfileEvert is a superhost.

Hi! My name is Evert and I am a musician working and teaching in Amsterdam. I studied violin at several conservatoires in Holland and the UK.
I like all kinds of good music, from Classical to pop, jazz and worldmusic. I like going to concerts, the cinema and museums, I like going to the gym. I have two very sweet cats - Lukas and Schnauz - who I love to take care of. I like to eat healthy food.

Because of my busy schedule the hosting and check-in is organised by a company named BnB Beheer. They rent out apartments for locals with local hosts, to make sure you have a wonderful stay. If you see me in the hall, feel free to have a chat!

Languages: Deutsch, English, Español, Français, Nederlands
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings